Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

Flavour of the week: Beetroot & hazelnut brownie with vanilla and hazelnut ice cream. Is that a flavour, it should be because my week has consisted of a lot of that. And lasagne. It has been a week of comfort food for sure.

Cook book of the moment: Ice cream made easy. The quick vanilla recipe in this book is my go to ice cream recipe and I just replace the flavouring if needs be, usually with hazelnut. The Andrew James Ice Cream Maker is my weapon of choice (but make sure the bowl has been in the freezer AT LEAST overnight). Incidentally the book comes free with it; go on, it’d be rude not to at under £20. In fact I currently have a batch of vanilla ice cream churning as we speak to accompany the Valentine’s dessert I’m making. Unfortunately the dessert is a surprise so I can’t tell you what it is yet. It is a fantastic recipe passed onto me by a friend, which I will share eventually.

Last weekend I was craving pizza but given the unholy quantity of garlic baguettes I consumed on the Saturday, a traditional pizza really was out of the question. I have tried in the past to make a cauliflower crust pizza as a healthy pizza alternative but it didn’t go particularly successfully and it did taste of cauliflower (unsurprisingly). I decided to give sweet potato pizza crust a chance and I am so pleased that I did! The recipe I used made such a delicious, right amount of sweet, tasty and doughy base. I didn’t feel short changed at all! It completely satisfied my pizza craving and more. It was such a great surprise on Sunday night, it didn’t taste remotely ‘healthy alternative’. I kept it simple and topped it with the traditional tomato base, mushrooms, peppers and mozzarella. I’m already thinking up other toppings such as a BBQ base, red onion and chicken, pesto base and goats cheese (topped with more fresh basil), tomato base with rosemary, bacon and goats cheese, the list goes on and the options are endless. Just like my love for goats cheese. Did I mention how yummy and doughy this crust is?

sweet pot pizza

I’ve also made this with a pesto base, mushrooms and goats’ cheese, divine!

Ingredients: (for two bases)

  • 1 large or 2 small sweet potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed
  • 1.5-2 cups of flour (plain or gluten free, gluten free actually works really well)
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • Base and toppings of your choice

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line two baking trays with baking/greaseproof paper.
  2. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. When I’ve made it with plain flour it has been on the sticky side and so will need the 2 cups, when using gluten free then 1.5 cups should be enough. A dough should form, don’t worry if it is sticky or looks like it will never come off the baking paper, it will once cooked. I’ve had it be sticky and I’ve had it be a beautiful well behaved dough, both worked out fine in the end.
  3. Spread/roll the dough out into two bases and add your toppings.
  4. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until golden brown,  your toppings cooked and your cheese melty!
  5. A tip for removing the pizza from the paper is to place the pizza on the paper on you plate, then fold the two corners furthest from you underneath and towards you, essentially rolling the paper from underneath the pizza.
3 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pizza Crust

  1. Pingback: Middle East Feast Sweet Potato Pizza | Noisette

Leave a Reply

