Sticky Toffee Pudding

Flavour of the moment: Toffee. The stickier the better. (And dates, I just adore them, nature’s sweets).

Book of the day/future blog post: Homemade Life: Stories from my kitchen table. – Molly Wizenberg. I’ve finally got my hands on this book and whilst on my holiday will be reading it. Molly Wizenberg is the creator of Orangette, one of my favourite food blogs. I cannot wait to have read it and do a post on all my favourite Orangette recipes, recipes I want to try and of course a little about the book. I am anticipating severe life envy.

On Wednesday I made a belated Valentine’s dinner for my lovely man. The main course was delicious and I promise to blog about it soon (it was so good in fact we are going to make it for my grandparents next week). However, dessert is always the highlight of a meal for me and this was no exception. This is a recipe from a friend of mine (her sister to be precise) and is an old fool proof favourite. I sadly don’t know where the recipe originated from, if you happen to know where this recipe is from please let me know because I would love to credit the owner/creator. I borrowed a stunningly elaborate heart shaped tin to add that cheesy Valentine’s touch (essential) but had enough mixture left to make a couple of mini puds too. (Seen below with home made vanilla ice cream).

IMG_20140218_213037

For me the highlight of this is the sauce, I could just drink it, it is delicious, far too dangerously delicious.

Pudding:

  • 120g chopped dates
  • 200ml hot water
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 85g butter (room temp)
  • 140g caster sugar (I used golden caster sugar on this occasion)
  • 2 eggs
  • 170g self raising flour

Sauce:

  • 85g butter
  • 170g brown sugar
  • 120ml double cream
  • 1/4 tsp of vanilla paste (or a few drops of essence)

Method :

Pudding:

  1. Preheat oven to about 170°C and grease a baking tray/tin.
  2. Mix the hot water, bicarbonate of soda and dates in a small bowl. Set to the side and leave to soak.
  3. Cream the butter and caster sugar in a large bowl then slowly add the eggs.
  4. Add the date mixture to the large bowl and mix.
  5. Fold in the flour, trying to keep as much air in as possible.
  6. Pour into greased tin/tray and bake for 35-40 minutes.

Sauce:

  1. Melt the butter in a pan.
  2. Stir in the brown sugar until dissolved.
  3. Stir in the cream and vanilla paste.

Serve warm as it is or with cream, ice cream or custard, as you fancy.

My Valentine pudding:

IMG_20140218_213412

Leave a Reply

