Falafel with a tahini dressing

Flavour of the week: It has to be chickpeas, bless those spheres of yumminess. I really love chickpeas in any dish, even spaghetti bolognese.

Here is the final installment of my comfort food, welcome home, Middle Eastern feast and it is all thanks to ‘In Jennie’s Kitchen’. I was pretty excited to read Jennie’s story of finding the perfect falafel recipe and I am extremely grateful to be able to learn from her trials and errors.feast
I made a few adaptations to the recipe above, such as replacing parsley with coriander because I really cannot stand parsley. Please give the Tori Avey recipe a read as it gives great adaptations and a short history of falafel too for those who are unfamiliar with these delicious fried gifts. Again I made half of the recipe but have given the full (double) recipe below.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of dried chickpeas, soaked overnight in at least 3 inches of water
  • 1 small onion chopped
  • 1/4 cup of chopped parsley (I used coriander)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp cumin (I used falafel spice as opposed to the spices listed)
  • 1 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 cayenne
  • pinch of ground cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp powdered pomegranate (my own optional addition)
  • vegetable oil for frying

Method:

  1. Drain the chickpeas and put them in a food processor.
  2. Add all the rest of ingredients (except the vegetable oil of course).
  3. Blitz in the food processor until you have a cous cous like consistency (avoiding turning your mixture into a paste).
  4. Cover and refrigerate for an hour to two.
  5. Fill a skillet or thick bottomed frying pan with  1 1/2 inches of vegetable oil and heat slowly on a medium heat.
  6. Whilst the oil is heating form the mixture into balls or patties, I made 12 large patties but I’d recommend anything between 12 and 18 depending on what size you want them to be.
  7. Once the oil is hot test the first falafel, it should take 2-3 minutes per side to brown. If this is a success cook the rest of them in batches, cooking for 2-3 minutes on each side until a deep golden brown.
  8. When removing from the pan place them on kitchen roll to remove any excess oil.

falafel

These babies really are as crunchy and tasty as they look (and I think they look pretty yummy!), I was so pleased with how they came out, after being worried about them falling apart when I put them in the hot oil I felt like a proud mum watching them bob about like golden orbs.

Along with finding this gem of a recipe, Jennie gave a recipe for a creamy tahini dressing which I think goes perfectly with falafel, in a pitta bread with a simple salad. I made the dressing, popped it into the cutest teacup I could find (of course) to accompany our dinner.

creamy tahini dressing

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 60g of tahini
  • 150g of Greek yogurt
  • 1 small garlic clove
  • 1/4 tsp of ground coriander
  • 1/4 cup of lemon juice
  • A good pinch of salt
  • A handful of chopped parsley (or coriander)

Method:

  1. Place all the ingredients except the fresh herb into a blender.
  2. Blend until you get a smooth dressing.
  3. Mix in the fresh herb and serve.
  4. If you have the time let the dressing rest so that the flavours have time to develop.
Leave a Reply

