Almond Bundt Cake

Flavour of the moment: Almond. I feel like almond deserves an award here for being such a stand up guy. He really made this mother’s day weekend special by being such a tasty individual and helping to make one of THE BEST cakes I’ve ever made (or so I was told). Almond is never a nut I get excited about but my mum loves almond and as such I made her an almond bundt cake for mother’s day, topped with dark chocolate & almond ganache. It was a massive hit with my whole family.

I cannot tell you how tasty this cake was, it was moist, light, had such an amazing crumb and seemed to melt into the mouth. It was far too dangerously good. It was my first bundt cake too, after I’d been eying up bundt tins for a couple of months. I’d heard horror stories of bundt cake attempts but thankfully this one went perfectly. I could of wept at its beauty, like any proud new mum would be. I felt like Romeo the moment he spotted Juliet; “Did my heart love till now? forswear it, sight! For I ne’er saw true beauty till this night“, it was that kind of moment when this baby came out the tin.

almond4

This is the sight that greeted me out of the tin:

Naked bundtHave you ever seen such perfection?!

And don’t get my started on the crumb, I mean just look at that crumb:

almond2

Or slightly less RIGHT UP IN YOUR FACE WITH ITS CRUMBY BEAUTY:

almond5

Needless to say this cake won my heart and I will most definitely be recreating it for other upcoming events. It would be criminal to not share the recipe, the cake recipe was one I found online but I made my own topping.

Cake:

Ingredients:

  • 225g of butter
  • 2 cups of white sugar
  • 4 eggs (I only had small eggs so I used 5, maybe that’s the secret, who knows)
  • 1.5 tsp of almond essence
  • 1.5 tsp of vanilla bean paste (or a good extract)
  • 2.5 cups of plain flour
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 0.5 cups of ground almonds
  • 1 cup of milk

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease a 10 inch bundt pan with butter (extra to that measured).
  2. Mix that flour, ground almonds, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl cream the butter and sugar until fluffy and then add the eggs, one at a time.
  4. Add the vanilla extract and almond essence to the butter mixture and stir to combine.
  5. Add the butter mixture bit by bit, alternating with the milk to the large bowl of dry ingredients, mixing until incorporated.
  6. Bake for 40-60 minutes (or possibly longer) until a skewer inserted comes out clean.
  7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for ten minutes.
  8. Tip out onto a wire rack and allow to cool completely. I do this by placing the rack upside down on the tin and turning the whole lot upside down and then removing the tin.

Ganache:

Ingredients:

  • 80-100g of dark chocolate
  • 0.25 tsp of almond essence
  • 200ml of double cream (more of less is fine, it just depends on taste, anything from 50ml will make you a ganache, just adjust until you have the consistency you want)
  • flaked almond to finish

Method:

  1. Melt the chocolate in a glass bowl in the microwave, checking every 20-30s.
  2. Mix the cream in bit by bit until you get the desired consistency.
  3. Add the almond essence and stir well.
  4. Once the cake has cooled completely, ice the cake as desired and top with flaked almonds.

almond3

One thought on “Almond Bundt Cake

  1. Pingback: Apple & Ginger Bundt Cake with a Caramel Drizzle | Noisette

Leave a Reply

