Tofu Panang Curry

Flavour of the moment: Peanut. I spent years thinking I didn’t like peanuts but slowly, one satay skewer at a time, I came around to them. Despite already owning many jars of hazelnut butter and the odd jar of almond butter I finally bought my first ever jar of peanut butter this week and it was to make this dish. I might (might) brave some on toast, maybe.

My man and I decided a few weeks ago to try a Thai place near to us that we’d never been to before, we’d heard so many fantastic reviews of the food that we just HAD to go because Thai is our favourite. I’d never had tofu before but being a big fan of vegetarian food I had been wanting to try it for a while but was a bit scared to cook it myself the first time I ate it. I knew that if I ordered it at the restaurant that it would be how is should be and fantastically cooked. I’m pleased to report that I LOVED tofu, especially in the creamy peanutty panang curry sauce that I ordered. I’ve been craving it ever since and decided to give making the dish a go myself.

Tofu Penang

I Googled a recipe to use as a base and adapted it very slightly. I served this with quinoa but my accompaniment of choice would be coconut rice. I dream about coconut rice.

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 onion chopped
  • 1 tbsp of grated ginger
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp of tumeric
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp of chilli paste (I used harissa)
  • 2 heaped tbsp of organic peanut butter (I went for crunchy)
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 200ml of coconut milk
  • 2 kaffir lime leaves (whole or powdered) or lime juice/zest
  • 1 heaped tsp of coconut palm sugar or brown sugar
  • 200g of tofu (I opted for smoked tofu)
  • 1 large carrot chopped
  • 2 peppers chopped

Method:

  1. In a heavy bottomed pan or skillet heat the oil and fry the tofu until brown on each side, remove from the pan and set aside. Add more oil to the pan if needed, ensure it is hot.
  2. Add the onion, ginger and garlic and cooked until soft and fragrant, then add the spices and cook for a minute.
  3. Add the peanut butter, water and coconut milk and bring to simmer.
  4. Whilst bringing to a simmer add the lime and sugar, season with salt.
  5. Once simmering add the carrots, peppers and tofu, leave to simmer for 20 minutes until the carrots are soft and the flavours have developed.
  6. Serve with an accompaniment of your choice.

This was really yummy but not a patch on the restaurant version, I’d say it was 60% as good but it did have 60% of the calories I’d imagine and as much as I would love to eat out every night my body just isn’t that good a sport. It definitely satisfied that panang craving for a while. That being said we’ve already planned our next visit.

Leave a Reply

