Pineapple Chicken

Issue of the day: Whilst I’m still coming around to desserts containing fruit, yet contradictorily have always love fruit cake and pavlova, I have never had an issue with fruit being used in savoury meals. Needless to say I am not one of those people who takes offence to ham and pineapple pizzas and I most certainly do not take offence to pineapple being used in this dish.

The story of how this dish came to be in my life: Whilst I was at uni one of my very lovely friends, Ryan, had a tradition of him buying the entire catalogue of Fresh Prince and then inviting me round for dinner and I very graciously turned up (kidding, I did return the dinner favour but alas did not own any Fresh Prince). Each time Ryan would ask what I’d like for dinner he would receive the response ‘oh, umm, something healthy’. It is a mark of his friendship that he trawled the internet to find healthy recipes and introduced me to shakshuka and this pineapple chicken recipe, two of my favourites, what a great friend.

I love this dish with brown rice but accompany it with whatever your heart desires. It is such a good back up for when I am craving a takeaway but definitely should not indulge.

Pineapple Chicken

Ryan found this recipe on a blog called Amy’s Healthy Baking and I’ve found several other recipes on there that I can’t wait to try. I’ve slightly changed (read: added more) some of the quantities, when I’m in cooking I am much more of a chuck some in the pan kind of girl than a careful measurer.

Serves 2 – 3. As someone who likes big portions I would say 2 but not everyone eats as much as I do.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large or 2 small chicken breasts, diced
  • 1 tsp of ground ginger
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 0.5 tsp of chilli pepper flakes
  • 1 large or 2 small red peppers, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tin of pineapple chunks in natural juice
  • 3 tbsp of soy sauce
  • 1 tsp of brown sugar
  • 2 tsp of cornflour
  • Oil or cooking spray for frying

Method:

  1. In a non stick frying pan, heat the  oil and fry the chicken with the ginger, chilli flakes and garlic until cooked through, about 6 mins.
  2. Remove the chicken from the pan and add the onions & peppers and cook until a slight crunch remains, a few mins, and then add the pineapple chunks, whilst saving the juice.
  3. Whilst the pineapple is cooking through (2 mins) mix the soy sauce, sugar and cornflour with the pineapple juice in a small bowl.
  4. Add the chicken back to the pan and reduce the heat.
  5. Add the sauce to the pan and cook, whilst stirring, until the sauce thickens.
  6. Serve with rice, noodles or pasta if you want or just eat it as it is.
Leave a Reply

