Banana and Nutella Muffins

I won’t repeat my strong feelings on ripe bananas here but they do make exceptional cakes. I will however talk about how strong my feelings for Nutella are. I adore it, I eat it out of the jar with a spoon when no one is looking, I crave it, I would eat it daily if I could. I really love chocolate, I really really love hazelnuts. I also love banana cake. Then, one beautiful day, I combined the two. Nothing more needs to be said on this matter.

Banana nutella muffins

I first saw this recipe in the form of pumpkin Nutella swirl muffins on Alaska from Scratch and was extremely excited by them. I happen to also love pumpkin, I love many things. Before I’d got the chance to make them, Maya (who’s blog is just incredible, along with her instagram and incredible photos from Alaska) posted the recipe for these. It was one of those recipes you look at, which is made of all your favourite things, that leaves you astounded you never thought of it before. The recipe calls for 4 bananas but I only had 3, it worked pretty well so I will leave it at 3, I’m sure 4 would work wonderfully too. I replaced the plain flour and baking powder/soda combination for self raising flour, I find it makes for a much lighter cake. I swapped vegetable oil for coconut oil as well. It is all just personal preference / what you’ve got in the cupboard at the time.

Ingredients: (Makes 12)

  • 2 cups of self raising flour
  • 0.5 tsp salt
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 0.5 cup of caster sugar
  • 0.5 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 0.25 cup of coconut oil
  • 0.25 cup of buttermilk
  • 0.5 tsp of vanilla bean paste
  • 120g of Nutella (about 0.5 cups / 12 tsps)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a muffin tin with 12 cases.
  2. In a large bowl, measure out the flour and salt.
  3. In another bowl mix together the mashed banana, sugars, egg, oil, buttermilk and vanilla. Once well mixed, add to the bowl containing the flour.
  4. Whisk together until well combined and then divide into the 12 cases.
  5. Spoon a tsp of Nutella onto each muffin and use a skewer or toothpick to swirl the Nutella into the cake mixture. It may be easier if you slightly warm the Nutella in the microwave first, you don’t want it to be warm/hot but just slightly warmer than room temperature, so that it is easier to swirl. Do this in 10s intervals in the microwave and make sure you keep your eye on it!
  6. Place the muffins in the oven and cook for 15-20 mins. Keep a watchful eye on them after 15 minutes, once golden brown and set all the way through they are ready.
  7. Place the muffins on a cooling rack and then wait as long as you possibly can to eat them, otherwise you might burn your mouth and not be able to taste them very well. This would be tragic. Once cooled slightly/completely, devour the lot.
Leave a Reply

