Crispy Oven Chips

Confession: Chips aren’t my favourite potato dish; I rank baked potato as my absolute favourite, then I’d say mashed but I do adore these chips above all chips. They are how my mum makes them and a great bonus is they are low in fat. It was a recipe my mum found many moons ago from Weight Watchers.

A word about Marmite: This dish par boils the chips in water with a teaspoon of Marmite, which means that the chips are lovely and crispy with an intrinsic saltiness about them. I feel neutral about Marmite, I like to lick the spoon after stirring the Marmite into the water to make these chips but that’s it with me and Marmite. So, I don’t love it (but I love these chips) or hate it. I’m rebellious that way. chips

This isn’t a recipe as such, more like a tip for making good chips, I’d say one small/medium potato per person.

Ingredients:

  • Potatoes, chopped into chips (I like skin on chips but peel the potatoes if you don’t)
  • 1 heaped tsp of Marmite per every 2-3 portions of chips
  • A pan of boiling water
  • Oil spray (such as a low fat oil spray or buy a refillable oil spray bottle and fill with olive oil)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and bring a pan, big enough to fit your chips in, to boil.
  2. Stir the Marmite into the boiling water and add the chips, boil for 10 mins.
  3. Spray a very thin layer of oil onto the baking tray. Drain the chips and place them on the tray.
  4. Spray a very thin layer of oil onto the chips and place them in the oven to bake and crisp up, about 30 minutes depending on your oven.
  5. Enjoy! My favourite chip partner is baked beans. You can’t beat chips and beans.
One thought on “Crispy Oven Chips

Leave a Reply

