Rhubarb & Almond Crumble Cake

Rhubarb: I was convinced I didn’t like rhubarb, I avoided many a crumble that my sister had made with it in until last week, when she made a rhubarb meringue pie and it looked and smelled amazing. I had a taste and now I am a changed woman. I can confidently say “Yes, I do like rhubarb”, I feel like this is growing up.

As if by some divine force of flavour, a couple of days later an email arrived in my inbox from Food 52 with a recipe for Rhubarb Almond Crumb Cake and I just knew I had to make it. I had 8 family members around for dinner this weekend and thought this cake would be great for a Spring/seasonal dessert; my rhubarb loving sister was there too, which seemed a good omen. The cake went down a treat, warmed and served with homemade vanilla ice cream.

Rhubard, almond cake

A word about books and baking: If you love baking, as I do, and dream of running a kitsch cafe/bakery where everything is organic and responsibly sourced and generally living at one with the world, surrounded by cakes but still staying slim, somehow, as if the gods look down on how fair trade all your ingredients are and say “She’s too good, let’s prevent her from being able to gain weight”, then you should read Jenny Colgan’s books. The first book of hers I read was ‘Meet Me At The Cupcake Café’ and it is a beauty. I loved this book, the characters, the recipes and whilst secretly wanting to shake the main character, Issy, and say “Come on, get a grip and go for it!!!!”, I also enjoyed that nothing was rushed. There are some great recipes in this book too and you’ll wish you had a Grandpa Joe. Also, as if this author knows me far too well she has released Christmas sequels to several of her books, I adore a festive book in the winter. This isn’t my favourite of her books though, as much as I loved it, I will reveal my favourite in the next post.

Ingredients:

For the crumble:

  • 2 tbsp of plain flour
  • 2 tbsp of flaked almonds
  • 2 tbsp of jumbo oats (standard oats will do)
  • 0.25 cup of brown sugar
  • 0.25 tsp of salt
  • 30 g of unsalted butter (room temperature)

For the cake:

  • 2 large eggs
  • 1.25 cup of caster sugar
  • 0.25 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of almond extract
  • 90 g of  unsalted butter, melted, plus extra for greasing the tin
  • 0.75 cup of self raising flour
  • 0.5 cup of ground almonds
  • 1.5 cups of rhubarb, cut into 2 cm pieces

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line and grease an 8 inch round cake tin.
  2. Make the crumble topping  by combining all the ingredients into a small bowl and rubbing them together with your hands / with a fork until you get a crumble like consistency.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, sugar, salt and almond extract and beat with an electric whisk until the mixture has tripled in size, about 10 mins.
  4. Fold in the melted butter, flour and ground almonds, being careful to keep as much air in the mixture as possible.
  5. Fold in the rhubarb and then add the mixture to the greased cake tin.
  6. Sprinkle the crumble topping onto the mixture and bake for 40 mins. The original recipe said 60-75 mins but I found mine was cooked after 40 mins. This may just be oven dependent and your cake is done when golden brown on the top and a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  7. Once cooled, remove the cake from the pan and enjoy! (I made it the night before and warmed it through in the oven to serve with ice cream, I highly recommend this.)

 

8 thoughts on “Rhubarb & Almond Crumble Cake

  1. Pingback: Hazelnut Pavlova | Noisette

  2. Pingback: Gluten & Sugar Free, Rhubarb & Almond Cake | Noisette

Leave a Reply

