Hazelnut Pavlova

I, quite clearly, love hazelnut. I named my blog after it and hazelnuts feature in my favourite chocolate, ice cream and snacks. I’ve been meaning to make a hazelnut meringue for the longest time, after stock piling ground hazelnuts in my freezer from making hazelnut milk and having endless frozen egg whites to use up from making pasta.

I had family over for dinner this weekend and decided this was the perfect time to make a hazelnut meringue, but given that there were 10 of us, I simply had to make 3 meringues and turn them into a 3 tiered pavlova. I did three courses for the meal, a main and two desserts; baked bacon gnocchi, rhubarb & almond crumble cake and this.

hazelnut pavlova

I promised I’d reveal my favourite of Jenny Colgan’s books in this post, I’m sure you’ve been on the edge of your seat since then with breath held. I reveal its title with a warning that all you will want to do after reading it is go and live on an island and run a bakery. Drum roll please….. it is titled ‘The Little Beach Street Bakery’ and it is exquisite.

I multiplied the meringue recipe I found by 4, I’d say this pavlova serves 8-12.

Ingredients:

For the meringue:

  • 8 egg whites
  • 2 tsp of lemon juice
  • 200 g of golden caster sugar
  • 200 g of icing sugar
  • 100 g of ground hazelnuts

For the filling:

  • One carton/tub of double cream, ~300 ml, whipped
  • Berries of your choice, defrosted frozen berries or fresh or a mixture of both
  • White and/or dark chocolate shavings

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 120°C and line 3 baking trays with greaseproof paper.
  2. Whisk the egg whites with the lemon juice until it forms soft peaks.
  3. Whisk in the caster sugar until the mixture forms stiff peaks.
  4. Fold in the icing sugar and ground hazelnuts.
  5. Divide the mixture between the 3 baking trays and shape into similarly sized circles of equal/uniform thickness.
  6. Bake for 1.5-2 hours, they should have a crisp outside and soft centre.
  7. Remove from the oven and leave to cool.
  8. Carefully remove each meringue from its baking paper.
  9. Place the first meringue on a serving plate/stand and coat in a third of the cream and a few of the berries, place the next meringue on the top and repeat.
  10. Place the final meringue on the pile, top with cream and then pile the remaining berries in a mound on the top and sprinkle with chocolate shavings.
  11. Serve and most importantly, enjoy!
Leave a Reply

