Flourless Orange & Almond Cake

I’ve struggled my whole life with my blood sugar crashing when I’m hungry, being hungry all the time and facing the dilemma of gaining weight or always being hungry. After endless blood tests and ruling out everything (thankfully), I went to talk to a nutritionalist who suggested that I try going paleo. Going paleo is something I’ve been thinking about for a while, especially since James moved in, as a way to eat healthily but fulfill both our tastes. Paleo is not something I’m expert in or particularly knowledgeable about yet but I am pretty excited about it and have been feeling less hungry with my blood sugar behaving better already.

In short, paleo is no grains, refined sugar or dairy. Giving up grains will be tough and I have decided not to give up dairy as I don’t eat much dairy as it is. When it comes to grains, I tend to eat ancient grains and when I do occasionally indulge I will try to stick to these.

Paleo orange & almond cake

All that being said, a new diet means exciting new ways of cooking, cool new substitutes (lots of nuts, yay!)  and new cook books (double yay, I have a slight addiction; I mean books and food combined?!). This brings me to this post’s recipe: Paleo Orange and Almond cake. It is gluten free and if made according to the original recipe, refined sugar free. I confess to using granulated white sugar as I am staying with James’ family at the moment and locating coconut syrup in a very small town in the Scottish borders is no easy task.

I was dubious if this cake would rise or have a cake like consistency but it did; it was delicious, moist and went down a treat with James’ family too, which definitely made my day.

almond and orange close up

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole oranges (these need boiling for two hours before you start, I didn’t read the recipe before starting and as such the cake was 2 hours delayed. Rule number 1 of baking, read the recipe before anything else.)
  • 6 eggs
  • 300 g of ground almonds
  • 150 g of sugar (or 100 g of coconut syrup to make it paleo)
  • 1.5 tsp of baking powder
  • Flaked almonds to top (optional)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease and line a 9 inch cake tin.
  2. Boil the oranges in a pan of water for 2 hours. The oranges should be left whole, no peeling or chopping required. Make sure you keep topping up the pan with water.
  3. Once the oranges have boiled, remove them from the pan and quarter them, remove any obvious seeds.
  4. In a food processor, blend the oranges until you have a pulp.
  5. Lightly beat the eggs and then add to the orange mixture and blend.
  6. Slowly add the almonds, sugar and the baking powder.
  7. Once well combined, pour the mixture into the cake tin, top with flaked almonds and bake for an hour.
  8. Remove from the oven, allow to cool for ten minutes and then remove from the tin and place on a cooling rack.
  9. Once cooled, if you can wait that long, serve and enjoy!

Paleo orange and almond cake

 

2 thoughts on “Flourless Orange & Almond Cake

Leave a Reply

