Paleo Banana Cake

As I mentioned previously, I’ve decided to go paleo and now that I’m back off holiday I am taking it more seriously. That being said I really love banana cake and was insanely jealous of the banana muffins that I baked for James and so I decided to make my own version, with hazelnuts and 85% dark chocolate (not strictly paleo but minimal amounts of sugar, to be strictly paleo, cocoa nibs could be used). On my pursuit of paleo cook books, and having found his blog The Domestic Man‘,  Russ Crandall’s cookbook ‘The Ancestral Table’ was one of the first books on my list of books to buy, in fact it was already on my list, pre-deciding going paleo because it just looks so good. Paleo or no paleo this book is fantastic, honestly, such incredible recipes with good wholesome food. I cannot speak highly enough of it. Paleo banana cake That being said, this is a recipe I found online. I’m working my way through Russ’ book and will most definitely be making so many recipes from it, starting with the tomato and BBQ sauces. Paleo sauces are definitely something I’m keen to make as shop bought sauces have so much sugar and nasties in them. This made for a scrumptiously moist cake, I tested it out on my family who said it was delicious before I told them it was paleo, they were pleasantly surprised. I used 3 bananas in this and as such would in hindsight have used one less egg. I’d advise using one egg less if using large eggs. Despite its yumminess, I would in future use one less egg as a general rule.

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs (I would recommend trying 5 and checking the consistency first)
  • 1/3 of coconut oil, melted
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract or bean paste
  • 0.75 cups of coconut flour
  • 0.25 cups of almond flour
  • 1.5 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 tsp of baking soda
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 2-3 ripe, mashed bananas
  • options extras: nuts, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, berries

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 170°C and line a large loaf tin or cake tin.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and coconut oil together.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients, except the bananas and optional extras, whisk until well combined.
  4. Whisk in the bananas and fold in the optional extras.
  5. Pour into the tin and bake for about an hour, until a skewer comes out clean.
  6. Once cooked, remove from the tin and leave to cool, if you can resist that long.

 

Leave a Reply

