Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

I’ve always loved ice cream, it is my favourite dessert but I really can’t get enough of it recently. I don’t know what has happened to my will power but the supermarket has had to keep their hazelnut gelato stocked up, that’s for sure. I’ve also become addicted to making sundae’s for James, I think I just like creating all the layers with cake (banana muffins), berries and ice cream; that was until we ran out of ice cream and I decided I would attempt chocolate ice cream for the first time.

chocolate ice cream

The recipe I found was one of Jamie Oliver’s, I liked that it used dark chocolate and looked simple enough. I replaced the sugar with stevia as I shouldn’t be eating refined sugar whilst being paleo (Nor should I be having dairy but I am a bit lax on that particular rule, seeing as it doesn’t seem to affect me. I can give up grains and sugar but ice cream, no way!) . I wanted to see how stevia would work in an ice cream and thankfully it was a success. Stevia is sweeter than sugar, so I used a third of the amount. Being me, I couldn’t resist adding some hazelnut flavouring (the bottle said natural, so I decided to investigate no further, ignorance is bliss). Next on my list is coconut ice cream made with coconut milk and then I am going to attempt proper hazelnut ice cream, made with proper hazelnuts and hopefully hazelnut milk, I’d like it to be dairy free and sugar free. I will keep you posted!

This ice cream is beautifully rich and not too sweet, the perfect accompaniment to strawberries. Hello summer!

 

chocolate ice cream and berries

Ingredients:

  • 100 g of dark chocolate (at least 70% cocoa solids, I used 85%)
  • 300 ml whole milk
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 25 g of Truvia stevia (or 85 g of caster sugar, different stevia brands are different sweetnesses, you want the equivalent of 85 g of sugar)
  • 300 ml of whipping cream
  • hazelnut flavouring (optional)

Method:

  1. Break the chocolate into small pieces and add to a saucepan with the milk (and the flavouring). On a medium heat, stir until all the chocolate has melted and the mixture smooth, do not let it boil.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat and let it cool, meanwhile beat the egg yolks and sugar together until pale and fluffy.
  3. Once the mixture has cooled, mix it into the yolk mixture and then strain into  a saucepan.
  4. Stir continuously on a low heat and do not bring to the boil, the mixture will start to thicken (eventually), it is ready once it coats the back of a wooden spoon.
  5. Once thickened, leave the mixture to cool, stirring occasionally.
  6. Whip the cream until it forms soft peaks.
  7. Once the mixture has cooled, fold in the cream and then pour into an ice cream maker to churn. If you don’t have an ice cream maker then read this great article by David Lebovitz. Incidentally, David’s ice cream cook book is pretty high on my wish list.

chocolate ice cream in progress

This is the ice cream maker that I use, the bowl really needs to be in the freezer for at least 24 hours in order to be cold enough. I leave mine in there permanently, you never know when you’ll need to make ice cream!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

