Asparagus Stuffed Chicken

It has been an exciting and fulfilling week getting to grips with my new paleo diet, I have to say so far I am loving it. I think James is enjoying it too because there is a lot more meat on the table these days. When my new paleo cookbooks arrived I handed them to James and tasked him with choosing some of this weeks dinners. This is one that he chose from the book Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragoso; a great choice with there being an abundance of asparagus at the moment, one of my favourite vegetable. It was simple and delicious, paired with kale, leeks and broccoli.

asparagus stuffed chicken close upI feel so inspired with this new way of eating and thinking, it has helped me overcome my calorie counting and really focus on being healthy, as opposed to denying my body of nutrients by limiting my food intake by not having extra fruit or sweet potato because it’d take me over the day’s calories. It is refreshing to know that I’m eating unprocessed nutritious food and knowing that my future self will (hopefully) thank me.

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 2 chicken breasts, butterflyed
  • 8 asparagus stalks
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil or ghee
  • 2 rashers of bacon, chopped into chunks
  • salt and pepper, to season

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (due to coconut oil being solid at room temperature, I’d advise putting a baking dish in the oven with a tablespoon of coconut oil in, so that it melts).
  2. Par boil the asparagus for 1 minute.
  3. Place 4 asparagus stalks and a rasher’s worth of bacon bits onto a butterflyed chicken breast and then fold it shut and secure with a tooth pick or skewer.
  4. Coat the chicken in coconut oil using a pastry brush and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes and then serve, with vegetables of your choice. A very simple and tasty dish!

asparagus stuffed chicken

Leave a Reply

