Paleo “Breaded” Chicken

I was all out of ideas today about what to cook for dinner. I wanted something simple, yummy, healthy and made with ingredients I already had. James was lamenting that paleo meant that I could no longer have breaded chicken and I was secretly mourning the loss of breaded chicken in my life too. It then occurred to me that there must be a paleo version, if not hundreds, and low and behold there was a recipe, with ingredients I already had, for “breaded” chicken in Sarah Fragoso’s Everyday Paleo book (that was sat next to me on the kitchen table, no less!). I added a few herbs for good measure.

paleo breaded chicken

We decided to pair it with sweet potato mash and steamed vegetables and we followed dinner with coconut no-cream and roasted pineapple. As such, I am currently in a food coma, but a nutritious one. Happy days.

paleo breaded chicken close up

Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 2 chicken breasts, butterflyed or cut into large goujons (approx 3 per breast).
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 of a cup of ground almonds
  • 1/3 of a cup of coconut flour
  • 0.5 tsp of thyme
  • 0.5 tsp of oregano
  • 0.25 tsp of dried basil

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C, line a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Beat the egg in a shallow bowl.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients.
  4. Coat each chicken piece in egg and then in the ‘breadcrumb’ mix and then place it on the baking tray.
  5. Repeat for each goujon.
  6. Once all the chicken is coated, bake for 30-45 minutes, depending on your oven. They are cooked once juices run clear, or use a probe thermometer (cooked when above 75°C).
  7. Serve with vegetables or sides of your choice and enjoy. Feel free to mix up the spices, I might try Cajun next.
Leave a Reply

