Sweet Potato Wedges

When it comes to potatoes, we are a divided household. James sits fairly and squarely in the sweet potato camp. I sit on the border, longingly looking back at the white potato camp, dreaming of baked potatoes and gnocchi but tentatively, one toe at a time, crossing the border into the healthier, sweet potato, side of life.

As you may have noticed, sweet potato has featured heavily in our recent meals and this is my favourite way of cooking them, that I’ve found so far. It is too simple for a recipe really but I’ll give you my recipe anyway, maybe more for inspiration purposes.

sweet potato wedges

Note the guest appearance of James’ steak, these wedges were a worthy accompaniment.

Ingredients: Serves 2-4

  • 1-2 tbsp of coconut oil, melted
  • 2 heaped tsps of Cajun spices (or any spices your heart desires, we’re a Cajun kinda family)
  • Enough sweet potato to serve the number of people you want to feed, scrubbed but not peeled. I know this sounds obvious but I’ve seen sweet potatoes half the size of my hand and bigger than my head, I wouldn’t dare, in that case, state a number. I’m not THAT daring.

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 180°C and line a baking tray with parchment/baking paper. You can grease a tray but then you have to wash it, you’ve been warned.
  2. Chop your potatoes into wedges of your desired size. I quite like thinner wedges because they cook quicker and I like them crispy.
  3. In a large bowl, mix the coconut oil and spices.
  4. Add the wedges to the bowl and make sure they are all coated.
  5. Place the wedges on the tray and bake for 30-45 minutes, depending on oven, wedge thickness and desired crispiness. Keep your eye on them after the 30 mins mark.
2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Wedges

Leave a Reply

