Ginger & Citrus Skillet Chicken

I was having skillet withdrawal and felt I’d been neglecting my lovely skillet for other pans, I think he was feeling a bit unloved. Then, as I was flicking through ‘Everyday Paleo’, I stumbled across this lovely recipe and it most definitely didn’t disappoint; in fact James announced that it was a meal I should add to the ‘cook often’ list. High praise indeed! Ginger & Citrus Skillet Chicken I loved how clean and fresh it tasted, and I really, REALLY liked the addition of the flaked almonds, truely inspired thinking. I subbed a few ingredients for what I had available, broccoli for kale and green chilli for jalapeño, along with editing a few quantities. Ingredients: (Serves 2)

  • 2 tbsps of coconut oil
  • 2 chicken breasts, diced
  • Mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 large or 2 small red peppers, chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 0.25 cup of chicken stock
  • 1 tsp of grated ginger
  • Juice of 1 orange
  • 1 tsp of dried basil
  • Half a medium green chilli, minced (seeds removed)
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • Broccoli, in florets
  • 0.25 cup of flaked almonds

Method:

  1. In a large skillet (mine could have done with being bigger, I hinted to James to tell the birthday Santa), heat the coconut oil on a medium heat and then add the chicken and onion, cook for 5-10 minutes, until mostly cooked through.
  2. Add the mushrooms, red pepper and broccoli and cook for another few minutes.
  3. Add the chilli, ginger and dried basil, cook until fragrant, a minute or so.
  4. Add the stock and orange juice, season to taste.
  5. Cook for another 5 minutes or so, until the sauce has reduced as much as you want, check that the chicken it cooked though.
  6. Top with almonds and serve.
Leave a Reply

