Teriyaki Sauce

Teriyaki has always been one of my favourite marinades/sauces, ever since I was a kid. There was a restaurant down the road from where I lived as a child that used to do a Teriyaki Chicken Bento Box that both  my mum and I adored and we’d order them in for lunch or dinner as a treat, when it was just us. The thought of the beautifully crisp but soft and delicious chicken, still makes my mouth water and I’ll never forget how they cut their carrots to look like fat cigars; the carrot thing isn’t relevant but I felt that you should know. The chicken and the carrots were all bundled up in a box, on a bed of sticky rice, saturated with teriyaki sauce and with some broccoli to boot.

Teriyaki Sauce

 

I made teriyaki to marinade some chicken thighs, which I’ll be roasting in the oven tonight, skin on and crispy. The recipe makes two cups, so I halved it. I only remembered part way through pouring the honey in that I was supposed to halve that too. Not a problem though, it is a deliciously sweet teriyaki and that is that. Feel free to use as much or little honey as you like.  This recipe came from my current ‘go to’ cook book – The Ancestral Table.

Admittedly there are a fair few ingredients in here but if you’re a fan of oriental food then I’d advise you to get them in and you’ll be able to make a ton of delicious dishes. I found all the ingredients in my local supermarket.

Ingredients: (Makes 2 cups)

  • 1 tbsp of arrowroot starch (cornflour is fine, if you’re not paleo)
  • 1 tbsp of cold water
  • 1 and 1/3 cups of chicken broth/stock
  • 0.5 cup of tamari (gluten free soy sauce, if you’re not fussed about gluten or paleo then regular soy sauce is fine too)
  • 0.25 cup of mirin (sweet rice wine)
  • 3 tbsp of honey
  • 1 tsp of rice vinegar
  • 1 tsp of lime juice
  • 1 tsp of sesame oil
  • 0.5″ ginger,  peeled and grated
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 0.5 tsp of white pepper (I omitted this, have a taste first and add if you love pepper, I really don’t)

Method:

  1.  In a small bowl, mix the arrowroot and water, set aside.
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients to a saucepan and simmer for 10 minutes.
  3. Add the arrowroot mixture to the pan and simmer for another 5 mintutes, or until thickened slightly.
  4. Voilà, your sauce is made. It is perfect for stir-frys and marinading meat for barbeques or to roast in the oven.
Leave a Reply

