Gluten Free Seeded White Bread Loaf

One thing that I have really missed since going paleo is bread. Whilst this loaf isn’t strictly paleo, it is at least wheat free, which is better than nothing. I’m going to be having it toasted with homemade jam in the morning and I literally cannot wait. I’ve got a real thing about toast. I attempted making a nut loaf once but it was too eggy and rather pricey to go about perfecting with multiple attempts. I’ve also seen a few almond flour bread recipes around which I’m keen to try out. I decided though that I’d play it safe and buy some gluten free bread flour for my first attempt and based the recipe on one from the flour maker’s website.

Gluten Free Bread Recipe

It made for a tasty bread but is definitely an enriched dough, more than a traditional bread. I decided to add seeds to it for that extra crunch and flavour, it turned out to be a pretty tasty loaf.

Ingredients:

  • 450 g of gluten free white bread flour
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 2 tsp of quick yeast
  • 2 tbsp of honey
  • 325 ml of warm milk
  • 1 tsp of vinegar
  • 60 ml (4 tbsp)  of olive oil
  • 2 eggs
  • Seeds of your choice, I chose sunflower and pumpkin.

Method:

  1. Line a 1kg loaf tin.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the milk, eggs and vinegar. I used the bread hook attachments of a hand held electric whisk. If you don’t have these then the usual attachments should do the trick but be careful not to burn out the motor.
  3. Add the flour, salt, yeast and honey. Try to put the yeast on a separate side of the bowl to the salt.
  4. Mix to form a sticky dough and then add the olive oil and continue to mix until you have a smooth dough.
  5. Add and mix in any seeds you want to add.
  6. Pour/scoop the dough into the tin. Cover and leave to rise for an hour.
  7. Preheat the oven to 220°C or 200°C fan by turning the oven on after the loaf has been rising for 45 minutes.
  8. Once risen, place the loaf in the centre of the oven and bake for 40-45 minutes.
  9. Once baked, remove from the tin and lining and allow to cool completely before slicing.
Leave a Reply

