Coconut and Pistachio Ice Cream

This was undoubtedly the highlight of my weekend. I’ve made ice cream that contained coconut milk as an ingredient before but this was the first time I’d made it using solely coconut milk for the ice cream base. I lucked out on the coconut milk I bought too, never have I seen such beautifully thick and creamy coconut milk; and I beg of you to use the full fat version to make this, they are healthy fats after all.

IMG_20140615_183355

I saw his recipe on Joy the Baker‘s blog during the week and vowed to make it this weekend. That’s quite the accolade because my ‘ice creams to make’ list is getting pretty long. It might possibly be the best and creamiest ice cream I’ve ever made and the best part is there wasn’t any cream in it. This is fabulous on my mission to cut most dairy from my diet, because I really really love this ice cream. I’ve been searching for the perfect coconut ice cream and I’ve found it. I’ll definitely be using this recipe as a base for many a flavour combination to come. Stay tuned!

This is a great recipe to whip up for dessert with Thai food or when you’re vegan friend comes over for dinner. I subbed stevia for the sugar, making it paleo too.

Ingredient:

  • 2 tins of coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp of Truvia stevia (or 0.5 cups of sugar, different stevia brands are different sweetnesses, you want the equivalent of 0.5 cups of sugar)
  • 2 tsps of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of unsweetened toasted coconut
  • 0.5 cup of salted, shelled pistachios
  • 2 tsp of bourbon (optional, I didn’t include this but Joy recommends to do so, I helps with consistency)

Method:

  1. Empty one of the cans of coconut milk into a saucepan and add the stevia. On a medium heat, stir until the stevia is well combined/dissolved into the coconut milk.
  2. In a bowl empty the other can of coconut milk, add the vanilla extract and the heated coconut milk and stir until well combined.
  3. Chill for 2 hours in the refrigerator.
  4. Pour into an ice cream maker and churn for at least half an hour.
  5. Remove the ice cream from the maker into a bowl and stir in the pistachios and half the toasted coconut, mix until evenly combined. You may want to put the mixture back into the ice cream maker at this point if it needs to chill some more.
  6. Empty into a tub or loaf tin and top with the remaining toasted coconut. See here if you don’t have an ice cream maker.
  7. Serve immediately or place in the freezer. Remember to get it out a few minutes before serving to allow it to soften.

IMG_20140615_183433

Leave a Reply

