Basil Salt

The barbeque season has arrived and I cannot wait for the sun to shine one weekend soon, so that James and I can head over to my mum’s place and sit in their beautiful garden to spend the day soaking up the sun, drinking refreshing fruit coolers and eating delicious barbequed food.

I realised that despite being excited by all the recipes in Bryant Terry’s Afro-Vegan cook book, I was yet to make anything from it. This book however is completely perfect for summer food and he creates some sumptuous flavour combinations. Basil salt is one of those things. It is no secret that I love basil, when I make pizza you can’t see the pizza for the basil on top and do not get me started on pesto. Bryant suggests using this salt to top a refreshing watermelon and strawberry fruit salad and I could not agree more, I’ll definitely be bringing that dish to the family barbeques! Strawberry and basil is a timeless combination, a marriage in fact. I won’t give all his secrets away here but there are other dishes with basil salt and cayenne that I will most certainly be making too! Vegan or not, I implore that you buy this book, or at least pick it up in a book shop and look through it. It is so colourful, well thought out and every recipe is paired with a song. I love that, and as such I’m going to assign a song to this post. A song that I spent my Friday night cooking to on repeat because it was absolutely necessary.

Song of the day: Purple Rain – Prince

IMG_20140615_183533

Ingredients:

  • 0.25 cup of sea salt (I used Maldon salt flakes)
  • 0.25 cup of fresh basil leaves

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 80°C and line a small baking tray.
  2. In a small food processor or spice grinder, add the basil and salt and process until finely ground.
  3. Spread out the mixture on the tray and bake for 15 minutes.
  4. Stir the salt and then turn off the oven, leave the salt in there for half an hour.
  5. Remove, leave to cool and store in an air tight container. If you’d like the salt to be finer then blitz some more in the food processor.
2 thoughts on “Basil Salt

  1. Pingback: Paleo Pizza with Pesto and Goats’ Cheese | Noisette

  2. Pingback: Summer Fruit & Basil Salad | Noisette

Leave a Reply

