Vegan Hazelnut Icecream

It is no secret that I love hazelnut, and that I adore ice cream. The combination of the two is almost more than I can cope with. I’ve been trying to reduce my dairy in take to minimal but the sun keeps shining and I keep on loving ice cream way too much. This meant attempting to find a dairy free hazelnut ice cream recipe, that was still rich and creamy. I found this recipe online and it definitely does the trick. Here’s my version, topped with chopped hazelnuts:

Vegan Hazelnut Ice Cream

Ingredients:

  • 100 g of ground roasted hazelnuts (You can do this simply yourself by roasting them for 10 minutes and rubbing them in a tea towel to remove the skins and then blitzing them in a blender until you have a powder.)
  • 240 ml of hazelnut milk
  • 100 g of hazelnut syrup (150 g of ordinary sugar will do instead)
  • 75 g of coconut milk
  • 240 g of tofu (The original recipe called for silken tofu but I used regular tofu and it seemed to work fine)
  • 0.5 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 0.25 tsp of xanthan gum (optional)

Method:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until completely smooth.
  2. Decant into a tub and leave in the fridge to cool for 4-6 hours or 1 hour in the freezer.
  3. Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker to churn, as per the machine’s instructions. (See here if you don’t have an ice cream maker)
  4. Enjoy gorgeous creamy ice cream!
6 thoughts on “Vegan Hazelnut Icecream

    • That makes two of us, although I’m a bit less specific, and will be making good ice cream in general. Definitely some vegan ice creams too though, I love using coconut milk to make ice cream πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

