Paleo Pizza with Pesto and Goats’ Cheese

Before James moved down he used to a have a Friday pizza tradition and whilst we don’t have pizza that often, I try to keep the tradition up sometimes. Now, being paleo, pizza is hardly something I should be eating and if we go to a pizza restaurant then I’ll opt for gluten free. In my own kitchen though I wanted to attempt a truly paleo pizza and the answer to my prayers came in the form of ‘The Ancestral Table’, my favoutire new cook book that I mention in almost every post; which, not only has a pizza photo on the front, but has a paleo pizza recipe inside. I’m blessed to have an international food shop around the corner, so getting hold of exotic ingredients and cheap spices is easy. I do think though that most large supermarkets will stock tapioca starch/flour, also known as cassava flour, which is the main ingredient in the base.

 

paleo pizza

When is comes to pizzas, I have many favourite base/toppings combinations; I love a traditional Margherita, piled with fresh basil but I also really really love a barbeque base with chicken, bacon, red peppers & onions and I also really really really love a pesto base with fresh basil, goats’ cheese, onions, peppers and mushrooms. I didn’t have any mushrooms in today, but I plan on doing a garlic, crème fraîche, mushroom and pesto pizza creation soon. Stay tuned! Other pizza toppings I love are caramelized red onion with goats’ cheese and anything entitled ‘Florentine’, which is cooked with an egg on top and spinach, yum! Our local pizza restaurant do a pear and Cambozola pizza which is to die for, pizza is so versatile.

Ingredients: (To make 2 pizzas)

  • 1.5 cups of tapioca flour
  • 0.25 cup of heavy cream
  • 0.25 cup of water
  • 2 tbsp of butter
  • 0.5 tsp of sea salt (I used basil salt)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 0.75 cup of grated Parmesan cheese (or a hard cheese of your choice)
  • A pinch of white pepper (I left this out, due to my general dislike of pepper)
  • 0.25 tsp of oregano
  • Several tbsp of pesto/0.5 cup of pizza sauce/any base sauce of your choice, perhaps barbeque?
  • A torn up ball or two of mozzarella
  • Any other toppings of your choice

paleo pizza base

Method:

  1.  Measure out the tapioca flour into a mixing bowl and preheat the oven to at least 220°C but preferably 250°C, or as hot as your oven will go.
  2. In a saucepan, add the cream, water, butter and salt and warm on a low-medium heat until it just begins to bubble and the butter starts to melt. Remove from the heat and stir until well combined.
  3. Add the warm mixture to the tapioca flour and stir with a wooden spoon to combine, leave to cool for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the egg to the mixture, followed by the Parmesan, pepper and oregano. Mix together until it forms a dough, you may need to add more tapioca or cheese, if required.
  5. Split the dough into two and then flatten one half of it into the bottom of a skillet (or any heavy bottomed, oven proof pan), push it out to the edges with your fingers and then pierce with a fork to create a few air holes.
  6. Place the skillet in the oven for 6 minutes, then remove, add your toppings and return it to the oven for a further 8-10 minutes.
  7. Repeat this for the other dough, unless you’re lucky enough to own 2 skillets!
  8. I haven’t tried a pizza stone but The Ancestral Table suggests that it works well but will require cooking for 8 minutes initially, instead of 6.
Leave a Reply

