Meatball Broth with Peas & Parmesan

This might not sound pretty and it doesn’t look very pretty either but it is tasty, in a simple and rustic way. Don’t take simple or rustic as a bad thing, there is definitely something to be said at times for less is more, when it comes to food and that is the case here. It is a what I like to call a clean dish, I don’t know how to define what I mean by clean when it comes to food. I don’t mean ‘clean’ as in the unprocessed ‘clean eating’ movement, I mean uncomplicated, wholesome flavours; that is the best definition I can come up with but hopefully you get the gist, at least. This recipe is one from Orangette, a blog I adore. I saw this recipe last week and I was really excited to make it for weekend lunches. I really struggle with lunches at the weekend for some reason. I’ve always got ideas for dinners all week, at work I always have variations of the same or leftovers for lunches and for weekday breakfasts I have my routine and food sorted. At the weekends we like to have more elaborate breakfasts, like pancakes, that we don’t get the time to make in the week, but when it comes to lunches I am always stumped. This recipe is a perfect lunch recipe in my opinion, simple, tasty and fairly quick to make, as well as filling enough to fuel an action packed afternoon.

IMG_20140621_210250

You can’t see them but there are many peas in the bottom of the bowl. I also got to use up the stock I made last week! I subbed a few ingredients to make the meatballs paleo and decided to use basil instead or parsley because I think parsley tastes like pen ink. It really does! Remember when you were a kid at school and you accidentally sucked your pen and it exploded ink in your mouth? No…? Ok, just me then, but anyway to me, that is what parsley tastes like.

Ingredients: (4-6 servings)

  • 75 g of tapioca flour
  • 50 ml of milk, add a dash more if the consistency isn’t right
  • 500 g of turkey mince (or any ground meat of your choice)
  • A handful of basil leaves, chopped
  • 1 tsp of dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper, to season
  • ~2 litres of stock
  • ~350 g of frozen peas
  • Parmesan (or any other hard cheese) to grate

Method:

  1. In a mixing bowl, add the tapioca flour and milk, mix into a thick paste. Add the turkey mince, basil, thyme, salt and pepper. Stir to combine with a fork or wooden spoon.
  2. Once evenly combine and using a spoon, scoop out enough mixture to for a 1-1.5 inch ball, form into a ball by rolling the meat mixture in your hands. Repeat for all the mixture, you should have about 24 meatballs. Place them on a tray or plate, cover and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.
  3. Bring the stock to simmer and then place the meatballs in stock to cook, this takes about 5 minutes, they should float once ready.
  4. Remove the meatballs from the stock and place in a bowl, set aside.
  5. Add the peas to the stock to cook, for about 5 minutes and then return the meatballs to the pot to warm through, then serve and top with lots of grated Parmesan.
  6. If you are making it in advance, store the cooked meatballs separately and don’t add the peas to the stock. Wait until you have the stock simmering to serve and then cook the peas, add the meatballs and then serve (with Parmesan). If you store the cooked meatballs in the stock then they may fall apart.
Leave a Reply

