Pork, Sweet Potato & Kale Chili

A note on kale, if you will indulge me: I love kale in all its forms but my favourite is nero kale (cavolo nero to be precise), its leaves are a super dark green, almost look bubbly and it tastes out of this world. Kale it quite a robust leaf and I like to use it in smoothies, stir fries and stews etc. Kale belongs to the brassica family, one of my favourite families of vegetables, they are packed with goodness and taste great too. I’m dying to get my hands on this brassica cook book one day! For more info on the goodies kale has hiding in it, see this great article by Nutrition Stripped.

Moving on, I had to work late one night this week and I was very lucky to come home to this meal cooked for me by my lovely man. It was a recipe I’d seen online and want to try because James loves sweet potato and I love kale. We switched the turkey mince for pork mince because we prefer pork over turkey. It was a really tasty dish and I’ll definitely be incorporating more sweet potato into my chilies and stews, they add such flavour and makes it a really hearty meal.

Pork, sweet potato and kale chill

 

Before I get onto the recipe, I wanted to tell you about a great book I’m reading. I mentioned how much I’d enjoyed reading ‘The Little Coffee Shop of Kabul – Deborah Rodriguez‘ in my post Afghan Butter Cookies (a recipe I found in that book) and this book is by the same author. The book I’m currently reading (The Kabul Beauty School) talks about the beauty school Deborah helped to open in Kabul, it is a fascinating insight into Afghan life; she is a great writer and fascinating person. Her next installment, about her life after moving out of Afghanistan, is out in the USA and comes out in the UK soon, I cannot wait to read it.

Ingredients: (Serves 3-4)

  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil
  • 500 g of pork mince (or any meat of your choice)
  • 0.5 tsp of salt, plus more to season to taste
  • 1 medium or 2 small onions, chopped
  • 2 red peppers, chopped
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 1 tin of chopped tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp of tomato purée
  • 0.75 cup of chicken stock
  • 0.5 tsp of cumin
  • Half a medium green chili, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp of smoked paprika
  • Lots of chopped kale
  • Fresh coriander, to sprinkle on top (optional, I heartbreakingly forgot to add fresh coriander to mine, I really love coriander)

Method:

  1. In a large skillet or heavy bottomed sauce pan (make sure it is a large skillet, if using a skillet, there is a lot of sauce and food), heat the coconut oil on a medium-high heat and then add the mince, cook until browned. Season with salt.
  2. Add the onions, peppers, garlic and spices and cook for one minute until the spices are fragrant.
  3. Add the tomatoes, tomato purée and stock and bring to the boil, (only just to the boil).
  4. Add the sweet potatoes and lower the heat, leave to simmer for 30-40 minutes. You might wish to loosely cover the pan with tin foil.
  5. Once the potatoes are soft, season to taste and add the chopped kale. Stir it in until it is wilted.
  6. Serve with fresh coriander (try not to forget, like I did).
Leave a Reply

