Banana, Chocolate & Almond Cake with a Coffee & Chocolate Glaze

Before I get to this pretty delicious and rich recipe, I have a few bits of exciting news. The first is that some months ago James & I entered a design a chocolate competition with Hotel Chocolat, and won, the second is that I had two recipes published in a cook book!

Banana, chocolate and almond cake with a coffee & chocolate glaze

About the chocolate: James and I went on holiday to Plymouth, in February, to stay with my lovely grandparents (I don’t get to see them anywhere near enough). Whilst there, and with the luxury of spare time (long since forgotten), we designed a chocolate, submitted it and then never gave it a second thought; I mean, as if we would actually win! Fast forward to May and we got a letter in the post informing us that we’d won and that they were going to make our chocolate to go into their chocolate tasting club selection boxes! We were over the moon, even more so because they said once they’ve made them, they will send us 5 kg of them. 5 kg!! The Hotel Chocolat blog has just written the official post announcing the winners, so you can see our chocolate (Hazelnut, praline and burnt salted caramel) along with the other 5 winners. It means a lot to win a competition like this because Hotel Chocolat produce exquisite chocolate with incredible quality ingredients and also have a great business model. James and I are booked to go for dinner in their Rabot 1745 restaurant in August, such a treat! I cannot wait.

About the cook book: Now, despite me being very excited about this, it isn’t quite as impressive as it may at first sound. My best friend Jen is involved with an MS charity and they wanted to publish a cook book to sell to make some money for the charity. Jen asked me if I’d write a recipe or two and I was more than happy to have an excuse to get creative. The two recipes have appeared on the blog too and are lemon, rosemary and chicken tray bake, along with tahini, lemon and pomegranate tagliatelle. The best thing is that the tray bake photograph was used as the photo for the front cover!

This recipe is from Green Kitchen Stories (my new favourite food blog find!), I feel this recipe was written just for me because it combines bananas, chocolate, coffee and almonds (these are a few of my favourite things) AND a bundt tin. A BUNDT TIN. One of my all time favourite cake tins.

Ingredients:

For the cake:

  • 200 g of almond flour
  • 25 g of good quality cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 0.25 tsp of sea salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 80 ml of olive oil
  • 120 ml of honey

For the glaze:

  • 80 g of dark chocolate (I used 70% dark chocolate, please use chocolate with a high cocoa solids percentage, it is so worth it and much better for you than cheap chocolate), broken into small pieces
  • 1 shot of espresso or strong coffee (40 ml), I used a big heaped tsp of some maple and walnut coffee I have, delicious!
  • 3 tbsp of warm milk (can be any non-dairy alternative if preferred)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and grease a cake tin. I used a bundt tin because I LOVE BUNDT TINS but it is up to you.
  2. In a large bowl combine all the dry cake ingredients.
  3. In a second bowl, whisk together the eggs, bananas, olive oil and honey.
  4. Whisk the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, pour into the cake tin and bake for 35-45 minutes. It is cooked once a skewer inserted comes out clean, mine took 35 minutes so keep an eye on it.
  5. Whilst the cake is cooking, make the glaze. Warm the milk and add the coffee to it, then stir in the chocolate until it melts. Set this aside, reheat in a water bath before glazing the cake if needs be.
  6. Once the cake is cooked, remove it from the oven and allow it to cool.
  7. Once the cake has cooled, turn it out the tin and place it on a plate. Pour the glaze onto the cake and allow it to soak in, then serve.
Leave a Reply

