Cheesecake Brownies

Having blogged Banana Cheesecake Brownies the other week, I was shocked to discover that I hadn’t blogged standard cheesecake brownies! These are the brownies I’ve pulled out the bag for over 6 years and always go down a storm. This week has been the last week that I’ve been on my current training rotation at work, everyone has been really lovely and I wanted to do some baking to take in to say thanks. My colleagues really loved these and I even received this review from a colleague:

“Today I tried Holly’s Cheesecake Brownies. At first sight they looked like your common brownie with maybe an extra menacingly delicious look about them. Waiting for my tea to cool I picked up my piece and began my inspection. They were soft and slightly sticky to touch but firm and heavy. Seeing as it was already in my hand, conveniently next to my mouth and my tea taking too long to cool I decided to have a generous nibble. This unfortunately was a dire mistake. As if a creature from a horror movie I felt a feeling inside me which I did not like, I could feel myself turning into a crazed wild animal ready to ravage its prey. Luckily my prey was only a simple brownie and I left the tea and began to devour my chocolatey treat. The texture was smooth, and easy to devour, the taste strong and brilliant. I tried my best to take my time and appreciate the heavenly combo of brownie and cheesecake. As if twins separated from birth the union of flavours seemed to go together as if it was always meant to be. My last bite and I savoured the moment for as long as possible but sadly all things come to an end and my brownie high quickly ended  like being woken from a grand dream.

Taste scale of 1 to 5 – 5

Cheesecake brownies

I made these gluten free, so I felt a little less guilty about the treat. I didn’t notice a difference between these and using plain flour, I must say. I found the recipe years ago, via a friend from school; it was my first cheesecake venture and definitely began my conversion to cheesecake. I like to double the brownie recipe but keep the cheesecake topping quantity the same, after much trial and error I feel it is the perfect brownie to cheesecake ratio.

Cheesecake brownie

Ingredients: (Makes 18-24)

  • 250 g of  butter
  • 250 g of dark chocolate, chopped
  • 400 g of light brown sugar
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • 100 g of plain (gluten free) flour
  • 0.5 tsp of xantham gum (if using gluten free flour)
  • 100 g of cocoa powder
  • 0.5 tsp of baking powder
  • 200 g of cream cheese (full or low fat)
  • 50 g caster sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a brownie tin with baking paper.
  2. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter, sugar and chocolate, stir until completely melted and smooth.
  3. Let the mixture cool for a minute or two and then stir/whisk in the eggs.
  4. Mix in the flour, xantham gum, cocoa powder and baking powder.
  5. Pour the mixture into the brownie tin.
  6. In a small bowl, whisk the cream cheese and sugar together. Randomly splodge the cream cheese mixture over the top of the brownie mixture and then use a knife to marble the top. Alternatively, pipe the cream cheese in lines over the top of the brownie and then drag the back of a knife perpendicular to the lines, in alternating directions, in order to form the chevron pattern in the photograph.
  7. Bake for 35 – 40 minutes.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool for ten minutes.
  9. Remove from the tin and leave to cool completely on a wire rack, if you can wait that long!
  10. Slice and serve.
One thought on “Cheesecake Brownies

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Gift Ideas, For Him | Noisette

Leave a Reply

