Cranberry, Orange & Poppy Seed Cookies.

Since having bought some poppy seeds to make a lemon cake with poppy seed buttercream, I’ve been looking for ways to use up the poppy seeds. I then saw the recipe for these cookies in Joy the Baker’s book and decided that they looked utterly divine and I needed to make them. I made a promise to myself to pick up Joy’s cook book this week and make something from it because it is such a beautiful book. I opted for gluten free flour and I can honestly say these are THE MOST melt in the mouth cookies I have ever made.  I wasn’t expecting more than an averagely tasty cookie but then I put one in my mouth and proceeded to eat the rest ( I did share). Thankfully I only cooked a third of the batch, 12 cookies was indulgence enough (they were small cookies).

I’m really getting into adding orange to things too, I used to run away from fruit dessert – full speed to the chocolatey desserts, but I’m getting there with the fruity side of life. I’ve always loved fruit but usually just as it it.

 

Cranberry orange poppy cookies

Ingredients: (Makes ~36 small cookies)

  • 2 cups of gluten free or plain flour (if using gluten free flour make sure it contains xantham gum, if not add 0.5 tsp)
  • A pinch of salt
  • 225 g (2 sticks) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 of a cup of icing sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • The zest of a large orange (at least 2 tsp)
  • 0.75 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp of poppy seeds

Cookie dough

Method:

  1. Usually I’d say that the first step is to preheat the oven but the cookie dough needs to be refrigerated for at least 3 hours, ideally overnight, before baking.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour and salt.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together the butter and icing sugar with an electric whisk, until pale, for a couple of minutes.
  4. Add the yolk and egg to the butter mixture and whisk together well.
  5. Add the cranberries, orange zest and poppy seeds to the mixture and quickly whisk these in, until evenly distributed.
  6. Add the flour the mixture and stir with the mixer switched off until the flour is mostly combined, then turn the whisk on for a final boost, to completely incorporate the flour. You definitely do not want to over mix the cookie dough.
  7. Halve the dough, placing each half on a sheet of baking paper. Using the baking paper, roll the dough into a sausage, approximately 1-2 inches wide. I found folding the baking paper around the dough and squeezing it under the paper, outward into the sausage shape worked best; repeat for the second half of dough. If that makes absolutely no sense, that is ok, just somehow roll the dough into two sausages wrapped in baking paper.
  8. Wrap the baking paper sausages in cling film and place them in the refrigerator for at least 3 hours, but overnight is ideal.
  9. Slice the dough into 0.5-1 cm thick slices and place on lined baking trays in a preheated oven, at 180°C, for 12-15 minutes. Alternatively, freeze the sliced dough in batches for freshly baked cookies at your fingertips.

 

6 thoughts on “Cranberry, Orange & Poppy Seed Cookies.

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Orange Marble Cake | Noisette

  2. Pingback: The Homemade Christmas Gift Guide | Noisette

Leave a Reply

