Chocolate Orange Marble Cake

I’ve been on a baking binge recently. Life has been hectic to say the least and my way of switching off/relaxing/getting in that zone is baking. As such, when I got home a blessed hour early from work, earlier in the week, I took full advantage. Cookies, cake and sausage rolls later, I was content and ready for bed. I’ve been making a point recently to make recipes out of cook books I’ve never used. You know the ones that you saw in the shop and ABSOLUTELY needed but then after drooling through all the recipes, you haven’t actually made any? I have an extensive collection of such cook books. This recipe is from a book entitled ‘The best-ever book of cakes‘, quite the grand statement and whilst possibly not completely true, it is a fantastic and educational cake cook book. Given my penchant for all things gluten free, I made this with gluten free flour.  I fed it to my colleagues without telling them it was gluten free until they’d finished, they were astounded. I astounded myself by preferring the orange sponge over the chocolate; both were great but I couldn’t get enough of the subtle zestiness.

Chocolate Orange Marble Cake

If you read my post on Orange, Cranberry & Poppy Seed Cookies or Lemon Cake with Poppy Seed Buttercream then you’ll know that I’m new to this whole citrus/fruity dessert world. My boyfriend branded this cake as ‘amazing!’ and I have to say, it was pretty delicious. I’m tempted to make a festive slightly spiced version nearer to Christmas; let’s face it, what is more festive than a chocolate orange?!

Ingredients: Serves 10-16

Cake(s):

  • 225 g of butter, at room temperature
  • 225 g of caster sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 225 g of gluten free/normal self-raising flour (add 1 tsp of xantham gum if the gluten free flour doesn’t contain any)
  • 2 tbsp of cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 1 tbsp of milk
  • 1 tbsp of orange juice
  • Zest of 1 large orange

Frosting:

  • 125 g of plain chocolate (the secret of baking well with chocolate is using good quality chocolate), melted and cooled
  • 115 g of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 225 g of icing sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C, grease and line a deep 8 inch cake tin.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy and pale, using an electric whisk.
  3. Beat the eggs into the butter mixture one at a time.
  4. Pour half the cake mixture into another bowl.
  5. Into one cake mix bowl, mix in the cocoa and tbsp of milk.
  6. Into the other cake mix bowl, mix in the orange zest and tbsp of orange juice.
  7. Alternately spoon heaped tablespoons of the mixtures into the cake tin and then swirl the mixture once, to give the marble effect. Take care not to mix the two mixtures together.
  8. Bang the cake tin down on the counter to flatten out the top of it and then put it in the oven to bake for 40-45 minutes, until cooked. It is cooked once a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  9. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly before removing from the tin to cool completely on a rack.
  10. Whilst the cake is cooling, make the icing by whisking the butter and then adding the icing sugar and melted chocolate.
  11. Spread the icing over the cake once it has cooled completely. If the cake is still warm the icing will just melt.
  12. Serve and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

