Pumpkin Patch Cake

So the tin (I did not pay that price, shop around) I used for this cake, was a love at first sight tin. I am a HUGE fan of Nordic Ware (see my honeycomb tin) and there are so many tins of theirs that I am lusting after (namely this one, although I am a sucker for anything bundt shaped). This tin though, screams Autumn, Halloween and quite obviously, pumpkins. Anyone who knows me will know I have a pretty big thing for pumpkins, so this tin really just HAD to be mine. I waited for at least a month after getting my tin to use it because I like the first time I use a tin to be on a special occasion. I’m odd like that. I saved this one for my birthday tea party, for me it was the cake I was most excited to see.

Spiced pumpkin

This recipe is pretty specific for this tin, I used two separate recipes (halving each from the originals) so that the pumpkins were made with a spiced pumpkin cake and the soil/fence was made with cinnamon and Nutella cake. The difference wasn’t as striking as I’d hoped but could be seen when the cake was sliced into. If you don’t want to use two different cake mixtures then just double one of the recipes below.

Tins like this always make me panic that the cake will stick. My way for tackling this is to put the cake tin in the freezer for half an hour, then melt some butter and paint it onto the inside of the cold tin with a pastry brush. It is the easiest way I’ve found for greasing a complex tin evenly. Then I dust the greased tin with flour. I tend to find there is a lot of banging the tin around at various angles to get an even coating of flour but it is worth it in the end. I chose to pipe Nutella into the stalks to make them brown but this is by no means necessary.

spiced pumpkin 2

I adatped the pumpkin cake recipe from one I found on A Beautiful Mess. I also chose to use gluten free flour with a little xantham gum, the gum helps hold the flour together in place of gluten but I would recommend using some in the pumpkin cake, regardless of what flour you use, to give it more structure and making it much less likely that the soil/fencecake mix will sneak into its place. For the soil/fence layer I used a recipe I have previously posted, Cinnamon & Nutella Cake.

Spiced Pumpkin Cake:

Ingredients:

  • A tbsp of Nutella, in a piping bag, for the stalks
  • 100 g of light brown sugar
  • 60 g of butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 95 g of gluten free flour (or plain flour)
  • 0.5 tsp of xantham gum (0.25 tsp if using plain flour)
  • 0.25 tsp of baking soda
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1-2 tsp of pumpkin/apple pie spice mix (to taste), or 1 tsp of cinnamon, 0.5 tsp of ginger, 0.25 tsp of nutmeg and a sprinkle of ground cloves
  • 0.25 cup of pumpkin purée (this can be hard to find, I tend to buy it in bulk from Amazon, this year though I’d like to make up a big batch and freeze it)
  • 1 tbsp of Greek yogurt

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Grease and flour the tin, as mentioned earlier I like to freeze my tin first and then grease it with melted butter.
  3. Pipe Nutella into the stalks.
  4. In a mixing bowl, cream together the butter and the sugar.
  5. Beat in the egg and vanilla.
  6. Sift in the flour, baking soda, xantham gum, spices, salt and then add the pumpkin and Greek yogurt, mix until combined. Don’t over mix or it will become too sticky, due to the xantham gum.
  7. Spoon the cake mix into the pumpkins and press down to make sure they are properly filled.
  8. Set aside and make the cinnamon and Nutella cake mix.

Cinnamon and Nutella cake:

Ingredients:

  • 90 g of butter
  • 90 g of brown sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 100 g of gluten free (or plain) flour
  • 0.25 tbsp of xantham gum
  • 0.5 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp of milk
  • 2 tbsp of Nutella

Method:

  1. Cream together the butter and sugar.
  2. Mix in the eggs.
  3. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Add this mixture to the tin, on top of the pumpkin cake mix.
  5. Spread the cake mix (or bang the tin down) so that the mixture is is flat and then scrape a slight dip in the centre, so that the cake rises flat.
  6. Bake for 30-40 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  7. Allow the cake to cool for 5-10 minutes before removing from the tin.
2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Patch Cake

Leave a Reply

