Poison Apples

Well, Halloween is just around the corner and I love a bit of spooky, scary not so much, but spooky I am all over. Plus, I’m a sucker for a toffee apple. I saw these on Pinterest a while ago and decided Halloween would be the perfect time to make them! I am so pleased with how they came out, even if I accidentally didn’t put enough liquid glucose in and didn’t realised until I had dipped the apples and was washing up my cup measures. Ooops. I think that’s why the toffee was a little runny and pooled around the bottom so much. They were still tasty though. I’ve never made toffee apples before but thankfully they came out ok!

Toffee apple

Ingredients: 

  • 6 Granny Smith apples
  • 6 toffee apple sticks
  • 2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 0.5 cup of liquid glucose
  • 0.75 cups of water
  • Black gel food colouring (how much will depend on how concentrated this is, I used almost a whole small Dr Oetker tube)
  • Jam/Candy thermometer (not an ingredient but essential)

Method:

  1. Grease a sheet of baking paper and place it on a baking tray.
  2. Insert the sticks into the tops of the apples, remove the stalks first.
  3. In a saucepan, mix the sugar, liquid glucose, water and food colouring. Add food colouring until you get the colour you want, you can do this at anytime during the initial heating process, I wouldn’t advise doing it once on a high heat.
  4. Place the saucepan on a medium heat and stir until the sugar has dissolved.
  5. Once the sugar has dissolved, turn the heat up to high and place your thermometer into the pan.
  6. Heat the mixture until it reaches the hard crack stage, 150°C or 310°F.
  7. Carefully, pick your saucepan up by the handle and tilt slightly to gather all the toffee to one side and dip/twirl your apples into the toffee and then place on your baking sheet. I dipped mine twice to try to get a thicker coating, I think this may have something to do with not having enough liquid glucose in it though, as I accidentally only put 1/3 of a cup in.
2 thoughts on “Poison Apples

Leave a Reply

