Spiced Pumpkin Soup

So I know I said in the last post that it was time for an onslaught of Christmas recipes BUT I just had to share this one last Autumn recipe. I guess I still haven’t quite let go of Autumn and accepted that Winter is here (although the new chill that has descended means it definitely has). I love Christmas but I’m less enthused by the prospect of Winter, even if it means layers of clothing, jumpers and boots (a great silver lining though!). In the UK, pumpkin purée isn’t the easiest product to find in the shops (I think it is a bit of a cheat too but sometimes needs must); this year I finally got myself organised and bought the most enormous pumpkin (two actually but I carved one) and puréed it. I did this by cutting it into 4 pieces, scooping out the seeds and baking them at 180°C for an hour. Once they’ve cooled down, scoop the flesh off of the skin and put in into a food processor until smooth. I used little pudding pots to store the pumpkin in 1 cup portions in the freezer, enough to see me through the year, hopefully. I’m buoyed by knowing that the next 12 months won’t be lacking in pumpkin. I used a quarter of the pumpkin purée to make this soup (as I didn’t have enough pots to store it all!).

Pumpkin Soup

I used a soup maker this time, so I will also put the soup maker adaptations into the recipe below. I found the recipe in my new festive cook book ‘A Perfect Christmas‘, you’ll be hearing a lot from this book over the coming weeks!

Ingredients: (Serves 4)

  • 2 tbsp of olive oil  (use if making traditional way, i.e. no soup maker) (paleo option – coconut oil)
  • 1 onion, chopped (roughly if using soup maker)
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced (don’t bother mincing if using soup maker)
  • 1 thumb of fresh ginger (leave whole if using soup maker, otherwise grated)
  • 1 small red chili, seeds removed (finely chopped or left whole for soup maker)
  • 2 tbsp of fresh coriander (chopped if making the traditional way), I admit to using dried coriander because I forgot to buy fresh!
  • 1 bay leaf (optional if using the soup maker)
  • 1 kg of pumpkin, peeled, deseeded and chopped (if using a soup maker then raw or purée will work)
  • 500ml of vegetable stock
  • Salt and pepper, to season to taste
  • Single cream and/or freshly ground nutmeg, to garnish

Method:

Soup maker:

  1. Place all the ingredients into the soup maker, the olive oil is optional. Make sure the onion and pumpkin are both chopped, roughly is fine though. If using purée then just add ~1 kg of purée.
  2. Press the smooth soup function on the soup maker.
  3. Sit back and relax.
  4. Serve and garnish.

The traditional method:

  1. Heat the oil in a pan on a medium-high heat and then cook the onion and garlic until they begin to soften.
  2. Add the ginger, garlic, chili, coriander, bay leaf and pumpkin and cook for a further few minutes.
  3. Add the stock and bring to the boil. Skim any scum off of the surface.
  4. Reduce the heat and simmer for 25 minutes (until the pumpkin is tender). Stir occasionally, add a little more stock if needs be.
  5. Remove from the heat and remove the bay leaf.
  6. Let it cool for a few minutes and then transfer to a food processor and blend until smooth.
  7. Return to the pan and season.
  8. Reheat, serve and garnish.

 

One thought on “Spiced Pumpkin Soup

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spiced Doughnuts | Noisette

Leave a Reply

