Almond Milk Hot Chocolate with Raw Cacao

I don’t know where I’d have been these last few weeks without hot chocolate. It is has been getting cold outside and life has been busy. James and I have been on some lovely coffee shop dates though, that have been so very needed, for quality time together (and sanity) with a shared slice of cake. I’m completely in love with Hot Chocolate Orange and I was lucky to get a free sample of a Black Forest Hot Chocolate. I’ve still got Praline Cappuccino and Gingerbread Latte on my to try list though, thank the lord for loyalty cards. Sadly though, hot chocolate is not great for health or the waistline.

This hot chocolate though, is a gift from the gods. It is rich, creamy, decadent and nutritious. The recipe is courtesy of Deliciously Ella (an incredible blog, if you haven’t already checked it out) and I’ve been meaning to try it for ages; I can’t believe I’ve missed out on so many weeks of having this in my life. You can buy almond milk in the shops but it is easy enough to make your own. I posted a recipe for hazelnut milk (which would also be great in this) but if you substitute almonds for the hazelnuts then, voila, almond milk.

Hot chocolate

One more thing, this mug is one I spent ten months pining for and I’m delighted it is finally mine! As for the rest of the collection

Ingredients: (Serves 1)

  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 2 tsp of raw cacao powder
  • 1-2 tbsp of date syrup (to taste)
  • 1 tsp of almond or hazelnut butter (I prefer the hazelnut butter but it is crunchy, so it depends if you mind having crunchy bits in your hot chocolate or not)
  • 1 cinnamon stick (optional)
  • 1 milk frother/chocolate whizzer (optional but very helpful)

Method:

  1. In a saucepan, add all the ingredients and stir over a medium-high heat.
  2. Use the frother (or a spoon or hand whisk) to make sure the ingredients are well combined.
  3. Once piping hot, serve and be amazed!

 

Leave a Reply

