Christmas Tree Cookies

It feels good to be blogging again, last weekend was my mum’s wedding (which was amazing!) and the week proceeding that our phone lines were down and we therefore had no internet. December weekends seem to be notoriously busy and this one (whilst not technically December, but close enough) was no exception. Hence why, despite having blogging on my to do list all weekend, I’m only just starting at 9pm on Sunday. Speaking of December, advent calendars tomorrow!! We’ve got Hotel Chocolat ones this year, in fact we have two because James’ family brought us some when they came to visit for the wedding! We’re spoiled for choice.

Tree cookies

Moving onto these cookies and Jenny Colgan. Jenny Colgan is the author of some of my favourite books. Meet me at the Cupcake Cafe and The Little Beach Street Bakery are my favourite of hers. There are seconds to both these with Christmas as the Cupcake Cafe being a stunning festive read, with fabulous recipes (stay tuned!), and Summer at the Beach Street Bakery coming out next year. I’ve already pre-ordered it and cannot wait. Jenny’s latest book is a third in the Rosie Hopkins series of hers, which I haven’t read yet; I’m saving them for next winter, so I can read them altogether. Jenny is running a competition with a recipe from her latest book, with the prize being an apron. I made these to enter and I am keeping everything crossed, I’d love a new apron! These cookies are ginger flavoured but they are not gingerbread, these are crunchy biscuits that will keep long enough for you to hang them on your tree, if they make it that far 😉

I have a killer gingerbread recipe to share soon and I’ll be making up for lost time with Christmas recipes. Back to this recipe, it is a good old bowl and spoon recipe, no modern mixers or electric whisks in sight.

tree cookies 2

Ingredients: (Makes ~30)

  • 300 g of plain flour ( I used gluten free flour and they turned out fine, the dough was a little harder to handle though)
  • 40 g of butter, at room temperature
  • 100 g of brown sugar
  • 150 g of golden syrup
  • 1 tbsp of ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp of ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp of bicarbonate of soda
  • Cookie cutters
  • Icing to decorate, optional

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C and line three baking trays with baking paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, mix together the butter, sugar and syrup.
  3. Stir in the spices.
  4. Sift in the flour and bicarb and knead into a dough. Once you have a nice smooth dough, wrap in clingfilm and place in the refrigerator for at least half an hour.
  5. Roll out the dough to your desired thickness, I went for about 5 mm.
  6. Cut out your cookies, remember to put a hole in them if you’d like to hang them on your tree, I used a straw to make the holes in mine.
  7. Place on the lined baking trays and bake for 15-20 mins until golden brown.
  8. Let them cool completely and then decorate, whilst sneakily eating one or two as your go along!

tree cookies 3

 

Leave a Reply

