Twas the night before 2015….

Well, this is it, this is the last day of 2014; it is time to write down those resolutions and goals and reflect on the year that’s just gone by. I am not a huge New Year’s fan in the sense of going out and buying overpriced meals and drinks, but I do love having a day to reflect and try to set some sort of path for the year ahead.

It is hard to believe that the photo below was taken a year ago at a Hogmanay party put on my J’s family in Scotland. At that time we were still long distance, J was working a job that started at 5 am and I had been in my job just a few months. Fast forward a year and J has a job down here, has moved in with me and we’ve been living together for over 8 months now. I wouldn’t change it for the world; as someone who needs her own space and can be fiercely (stubbornly) independent it has been a huge learning curve for me, but a necessary one too. I’m sure we’ve both learned and adapted in ways we didn’t even think of 8 months ago. We’ve had all sorts of challenges but I couldn’t be prouder of how we faced them together.

NYEEnough of the mushy stuff though and onwards with the resolutions. I’m sure I made many resolutions last year but the two I’ve held on to and can actually remember were:

  1. To start a food blog
  2. Read 25 books

Well, I have achieved number 1 and have kept it going for the last ten months (I didn’t start Noisette until February) and I can honestly say it has brought me more satisfaction and joy than I thought possible. I’ve met lovely people, discovered loads of amazing blogs (food and otherwise) and many of my resolutions for the coming year will be to improve on this.

As for number 2, I’m on my 24th book but I am also a quarter of the way through a 25th book that I set aside temporarily to read endless Christmas chick lit in December. I also listened to 12 audio books (plus the first 4 Harry Potter audio books but they aren’t new books to me so they don’t count) on the journeys to and from work, so I don’t feel too guilty about that missing half a book that wold complete my resolution. I plan to do a 2014 book review post in the coming week, so if you’re a book worm like me then stay tuned! I love reading book review posts on other blogs and thought it was about time I dipped my toe into those waters. I like to include mentions of books I’m reading into recipe posts occasionally but the books don’t get the discussion they deserve there.

So what about 2015….

This year coming I seem to have many resolutions and goals. In no particular order these are:

  1. Run a 10 km race.
  2. Get back on track with eating healthily and having a regular exercise routine again.
  3. Get more sleep.
  4. Drink more water.
  5. Pay off my debts incurred at university (not my student loan though, that can take its sweet time) so that I can get some savings together and not have to borrow money off of family members in times of crisis (which I really hate doing).
  6. Become a better blogger, this includes undertaking online blogging courses (already enrolled in one!) and improving my photography skills. There are also a number of incredible looking books I want to read that should help with all of this. I’d also like to expand my blog from just food (but still predominantly food) to include other interests of mine. I’d like my blog to reflect the blogs I enjoy reading.
  7. Read (another) 25 books.
  8. Go through my cook books and note down the recipes I want to try this year.
  9. Get serious about a side line business/ hobby involving cake. Even if it is just Christmas cakes and hampers, I need something to get creative with, I miss having creativity in my life.

9 resolutions is more than enough for anyone and there is nothing like the accountability of putting it out there on the internet. What are your goals and dreams for 2015? Have a great one, whatever you do and I’ll see you next year!

2 thoughts on “Twas the night before 2015….

Leave a Reply

