My 2014 Pin Board/Our Year in Cinema

This is an idea I first saw on a blog I love called The Dainty Squid, and it seemed a great way to keep hold of all the things I find sentimental. I’m a pretty sentimental person when it comes to mementos. Throughout the year I pin things like cinema tickets, letters, postcards, tags off of important items I’ve been given or bought and the odd photograph to make a visual diary of the year. On January 1st, I take everything off of the board and start again. 2014 was my first year and I felt like it got too full too quickly, so I think this year I’ll have to be a bit more select about what goes on there.

Anyway, this was my 2014 pin board:

Pin board

The highlights of 2014 (plus the end of 2013) in no particular order were:

  • Seeing the Lion King musical in Edinburgh with J and his family.
  • Visiting the Harry Potter Studio Tour twice
  • 5 wedding invitations!
  • Winning a Hotel Chocolat design a chocolate competition
  • Seeing Potomac Trading Post open (from afar) and receiving my order
  • Receiving postcards from friends
  • Receiving cute thank you cards from friends
  • The attention to detail on the envelope of a Christmas card by my friend L
  • Valentine’s day
  • Kinder egg having Disney Princesses inside them
  • Visiting Disney Paris with two amazing friends (and buying an Olaf and a Nightmare Before Christmas globe)
  • Organising and going to my mum’s hen (bachelorette) party
  • Dating my man (favourites being The Greedy Cow, The Cupcake Cafe, Bow’s Kitchen and Jamie’s Italian)
  • Visiting the zoo
  • Climbing up Grey Mare’s Tail waterfall in Scotland on New Years Day 2014 with J and my family
  • Getting a Lodge skillet and a drop biscuit pan

I love getting some of my instagram photos printed from time to time, I use Polargram to do this. I write on the photographs where and when they were taken, for future reference and really should get around to scrap booking them.

J is a big fan of going to the cinema, I like it too but he really enjoys a cinema trip. We’ve been a few times this year and the films we saw were:

  • Non-Stop: An action film starring Liam Neeson, set on a plane. It was a fun watch with a nice little twist at the end. A good old edge-of-the-seat kind of film.
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier: We’re big Marvel fans in this household and if I’m honest I think Captain America is the weakest of the films. The sequel, however, was fantastic and one of my favourite Marvel films. I definitely recommend it.
  • The Amazing Spiderman 2: I’ll admit, I was dubious as I hadn’t seen the first one but I had seen other attempts at Spiderman and didn’t love them. I went because it was J’s turn to choose a film but it was such a great film and I even shed a tear or 200, I was very pleasantly surprised.
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes: J kept recommending that I watch Rise of the Planet of the Apes and I finally agreed, in time to see Dawn of the Planet of the Apes at the cinema. They were both films I really enjoyed, despite thinking the story line sounded a little silly (and never having seen the originals) but sometimes you need a bit of silly in your life, and they were excellent films.
  • The Expendables 3: If you asked me what my favourite film is I’ll say it is a tie between The Expendables and Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. I completely adore The Expendables films, they are the perfect combination of cheese, guns, testosterone and fun. The third installment did not disappoint and Santa even bought me the DVD for Christmas. What a babe!
  • Guardians of the Galaxy: Ok, so I wasn’t convinced from the trailer but it had Vin Diesel in it and it was Marvel, so I willing to give it a shot. Then it started and 5 minutes in I was convinced it was going to be terrible. Turns out it is a great film and a totally new angle for a Marvel film. It was so much fun, the music was great and there was action, comedy and emotional parts too. I’m completely sold on it. We are big fans of Guardians of the Galaxy.
  • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1: I am late to this party. I haven’t read the books and I didn’t want to watch the films either. Then J read the books, which surprised me and he kept asking me to watch the films. I relented and watched the first one and hated it, I just thought the whole idea was completely stupid. Once I’d accepted the premise for the films though, I really wanted to know what happened and I actually really loved the second film. The third installment was quite good and gives the impression that the fourth and final installment is going to be an epic one.
  • The Imitation Game: This was the last film we saw at the cinema in 2014 and what a way to end our year of cinema. This was my favourite film of the year and I absolutely bawled my eyes out. This is a true story about a genius mathematician who cracked the Enigma and helped to end the second world war. He is a person who holds a lot of importance to me but I’ll save that for another post dedicated completely to the man himself, later in the year. This film will win awards, mark my words.
Leave a Reply

