My favourite kitchen tool AND A GIVEAWAY!

For some time now I have been dropping BIG hints about my favourite kitchen tool. I’d wanted one of these for a few months before finally biting the bullet and buying one. It seemed silly money for what it is but turned out to be the best purchase I made last year. It is, of course, a Microplane Zester. When I first got it I wanted to zest/grate everything in sight. I wondered how other zesters managed to get it so wrong.

800_zester_yellow_life

(Image courtesy of Microplane)

I wanted to do a giveaway if I hit my 1 year blog goal, which was to reach 100 followers. Yesterday I did just that and surpassed it, with two weeks to spare before my 1 year was up. I’m proud of this little blog, 100 followers isn’t much in internet terms but in 12 months this blog has become something, from nothing but a crazy new year’s resolution. When thinking about what to give away for my giveaway, this was an obvious choice and the guys over at Microplane were kind enough to send one over to me, to send out to you!! Not only do they make top quality products but they have great and friendly service too!

I like to use my zester for ginger, chilies, citrus, spices and Parmesan. I keep lemons, limes, ginger and chilies in the freezer at all times so I can spruce up any meal. It would also be great (pun intended!) at grating a nice slab of dark chocolate into some warm milk for an amazing hot chocolate.

The Microplane zester came about when a woman was getting frustrated trying to zest an orange for a cake. She went out to her husband’s workshop and borrowed one of his Microplane woodworking tools. That was 20 years ago and the rest is history!

The prize is a yellow Microplane zester, like the one in the picture above. There will be one winner. I’m running the giveaway through Rafflecopter and it is therefore completely impartial and nothing to do with me. This means anyone can enter and it is totally fair. You can get multiple entries by performing the tasks below, and you’ve got the option to enter daily by tweeting. I’m running the giveaway for a week, so that gives you plenty of time to enter. The competition is open internationally. Click the link for a Rafflecopter giveaway. Good luck!

17 thoughts on “My favourite kitchen tool AND A GIVEAWAY!

  1. I love Microplanes, nerd fact… Microplanes are so fab are because they’re cut so they are like little mini blades, normal graters etc are punched out so they are blunt and hence why they just mush stuff and require much more force to use 😉

  2. Ive never used a microplane, choosing to finely chop instead, but i may have to invest after reading this review. Would be good for garlic as well!

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Dipped Shortbread | Noisette

  4. Pingback: Chicken and Chorizo Paella | Noisette

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Honey Chocolate Chip Cookies | Noisette

  6. Pingback: Celebration Cake: Jam Layer Cake with Lemon Frosting (Courgette Cake) | Noisette

  7. Pingback: Spiced Winter Porridge with Carrot | Noisette

  8. Pingback: Easter Simnel Cake | Noisette

  9. Pingback: Thai Pasta | Noisette

  10. Pingback: Christmas Jam | Noisette

  11. Pingback: Christmas Pudding Vodka | Noisette

Leave a Reply

