Middle East Feast Sweet Potato Pizza

I spent last week in London with work and got to spend time with friends in the evenings whilst I was up there. One evening I was tasked with cooking dinner for a few friends, something I always enjoy. The friend I was staying with was vegetarian, which is absolutely fine by me and in fact, I prefer it because in my books that means cheese. Goat’s cheese, in this case. It’s no secret that I love Middle Eastern flavours and I combined all my favourites in the toppings of this pizza, then prayed that it would come out ok. Thankfully it did. I’ve shared the sweet potato base recipe before but I’ll share it here again, to make following the recipe simpler. This year I want to focus on blogging original recipes, so this is a start!

Middle East feast

For the base:

Ingredients: (for two bases)

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled, boiled and mashed
  • 1.5-2 cups of flour (plain or gluten free, gluten free actually works really well)
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tbsp of olive oil
  • Base and toppings of your choice

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C and line two baking trays with baking/greaseproof paper.
  2. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl. When I’ve made it with plain flour it has been on the sticky side and so will need the 2 cups, when using gluten free then 1.5 cups should be enough. A dough should form, don’t worry if it is sticky or looks like it will never come off the baking paper, it will once cooked. I’ve had it be sticky and I’ve had it be a beautiful well behaved dough, both worked out fine in the end.
  3. Spread/roll the dough out into two bases. (Dice and roast your peppers in a little olive oil at the same time, this will save you some time  – see below)
  4. Bake for 10 minutes, until half cooked, then remove, ready to top.

The toppings:

Ingredients:

I didn’t actually measure any of this, so feel free to just guesstimate the whole lot too.

  • Passata (~250 ml)
  • Seeds of 1 small pomegranate (or a large one and nibble on the rest whilst the pizza is cooking)
  • 1 lemon (juice of)
  • A handful or fresh, chopped coriander
  • 150 g of plain yogurt
  • 2-3 tbsp of tahini
  • 2 tsp of za’atar
  • 150 g of goat’s cheese
  • 2 peppers, diced and partially roasted whilst the bases are in the oven
  • Pine nuts, to sprinkle on tip
  • Olive oil, to drizzle

Method:

  1. In a small bowl, mix together the yogurt, tahini, za’atar, half the lemon juice and a tbsp or two of water (until a drizzling consistency is reached)
  2. Spread the passata over your two part-cooked pizza bases.
  3. Sprinkle with pomegranate seeds, fresh coriander, and diced roasted peppers.
  4. Drizzle with your tahini-yogurt mixture (keep any left over for additional dressing once served) and then top with the goat’s cheese.
  5. Drizzle the remaining lemon juice over the two pizzas, followed by olive oil.
  6. Finish with pine nuts and then place in the oven to bake for 10-15 minutes, until the cheese is melted and the nuts golden.
  7. Slice, serve and enjoy!

Middle ease feast

3 thoughts on “Middle East Feast Sweet Potato Pizza

Leave a Reply

