Simple but So Delicious, Tomato & Basil Pasta

The thing I love about being off work but not travelling is having the time to be spontaneous in the kitchen. Normally, I plan the weeks’ meals ahead so that I can get all the food shopping done for that week. Being off work though, the weekly shop is long forgotten and I can think of what I’d actually like to eat, or just improvise. I’d spent the day sorting the house and doing some DIY (more on that soon!) and I really fancied something comforting and delicious. This isn’t really a recipe, more my take on a classic flavour combination, I cannot get enough of fresh basil, ever. Also, it is always useful to have a comfort food recipe that’d delicious but quick to whip up, just for one; multiply the recipe up to serve as many as you’d like. James is away at the moment, so I’ve been experimenting in the kitchen.

Tombas

In other lovely news, Noisette was one yesterday! My little foodie corner of the internet has been going for one whole year. It’s been an amazing year and I’ve achieved more than I ever imagined with this blog. I’ve found so many other awesome bloggers out there and made great friends too. Here’s to an even better second year!

Ingredients:

  • A vine of cherry tomatoes (or any tomatoes ~225 g)
  • 0.5 tbsp of olive oil
  • 0.5 tsp of brown sugar/coconut palm sugar
  • A clove of garlic, minced
  • A sprinkle of sea salt
  • One portion of pasta, cooked whilst your tomatoes are in the oven.
  • A handful of fresh basil
  • A big handful of freshly grated Parmesan
  • Black pepper, to season, optional – personally I pass on black pepper and let the basil do the talking

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Pick your tomatoes off the vine and chop them in half.
  3. Place the tomatoes onto a baking tray and drizzle with the olive oil, sugar, garlic and salt, roast in the oven for 20 minutes until they really begin to colour, like this:To,bas1
  4. Drain your pasta and place it back in the saucepan.
  5. Remove the tray of tomatoes from the oven and using a wooden spoon, mush them up.Tombas2
  6. Pour them into the saucepan with the pasta, add 1 tbsp of water.
  7. Stir until the sauce begins to boil and the pasta is well coated.
  8. Serve topped with torn fresh basil leaves and loads of grated Parmesan.
  9. Enjoy that bowl of Italian inspired heaven.
One thought on “Simple but So Delicious, Tomato & Basil Pasta

  1. Pingback: Spaghetti & Meatballs | Noisette

Leave a Reply

