Spiced Winter Porridge with Carrot

I first saw this post on Joy the Baker’s blog and she found it in Whole Grain Mornings and adapted it slightly.I spotted the picture on Joy’s blog and thought it looked delicious, then I read the ingredients and got very excited! There are all my favourite spices in here (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg) along with currants, brown sugar and carrots; I love sneaking vegetables into unsuspecting dishes, it’s a hobby of mine. What a heavenly combination of ingredients! I renamed it to spiced winter porridge because it just screams Christmas to me. James loved this porridge now and was a star for not even questioning why I was grating carrots to make breakfast. The real treat came when we had the leftovers for breakfast the next day, it tastes even better the next day, like lasagne but nothing like lasagne. I made a second double batch to last us the week, I can’t wait!

Carrot

It is gluten free and vegan friendly too! I adapted the recipe to use rolled oats and fresh ginger but ground ginger will be just fine too.

Ingredients: (Serves 4)

  • 720 ml of water
  • 240 ml of milk (any kind, I’ve used dairy and almond milk in this recipe, both were delicious)
  • 175 g of porridge oats (gluten free if you need)
  • 100 g (~2 medium) of grated carrots
  • 90 g of currants
  • 0.75 tsp of ground cinnamon
  • 0.25 tsp of ground ginger or a good (fine) grating of fresh ginger (I keep my ginger frozen and use my zester to grate it frozen into dishes)
  • 0.25 tsp of freshly grated/ground nutmeg
  • 3 tbsp of light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 25 g of unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 2 tsp of grated orange zest

Method:

  1. Place the milk, water, oats, carrot, currants, spices, sugar, vanilla and salt into a saucepan and stir over a medium heat until well mixed. Stir occasionally thereon-after until the mixture is piping hot, thickened up and your oats are cooked through. This usually takes about 10 minutes but can take more or less time, depending how you like your porridge cooked.
  2. Serve topped with coconut flakes and orange zest. Make sure you make too much so that you can have the next day too! (Psst! Top it with a little more brown sugar, I dare you, but don’t tell anyone!) 

Here’s a picture of our week’s worth of porridge:

Carrot2

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

4 thoughts on “Spiced Winter Porridge with Carrot

  1. Pingback: Hash Brown | Noisette

Leave a Reply

