Basil Spelt Gnocchi

My first introduction to home made gnocchi was at university when my housemate made some, it was a revelation; so simple but so tasty. We must have made it a hundred times between us since then. I’ve made it less since cutting gluten out of my diet but since after trying a few gluten free versions, I couldn’t find a recipe I liked. If you have one, please share! Most of the time I don’t eat gluten but occasionally I do but I try to stick to more ‘ancient’ grains as they seem to have less effect on my blood sugar. It might be psychological but there may be science behind it, if you’re interested in that sort of thing. My flour of choice on occasions like this is spelt flour, especially wholegrain spelt flour because it has such a great flavour. I love using it in crumbles, as well as this gnocchi recipe. Whilst I’d highly recommend using spelt flour, this recipe works fine with plain flour too.

BS gnocchi

This gnocchi works amazingly in courgette gratin gnocchi. It freezes well too, so I always make enough for 4 and freeze 2 portions. If you have the luxury of freezer space, freeze them on a baking tray first, before placing them in a freezer bag. I never seem to have freezer space and just freeze them in the bag, they come unstuck when you cook them.

Ingredients:

  • 500 g of potatoes (raw weight)
  • 200 g of spelt flour ( I used 50/50 mix of wholegrain and white spelt flour but I’ve done it 100% with either and they all work out beautifully)
  • A handful of fresh basil leaves, finely chopped

Method: (Makes enough to serve 4)

  1. Peel and dice the potatoes.
  2. Place the potatoes in a pan of boiling water and cook until very soft (~15 mins).
  3. Drain and then mash your potatoes until really smooth.
  4. Place the mashed potato into a mixing bowl and add the flour and basil.
  5. Stir until a dough begins to form and then use your hands to form in it into a ball of dough. Be careful the potato may still be quite hot, leave it to cool for a few minutes if this is the case.
  6. Turn out your dough onto a floured work surface and knead for a minute or so until the dough it evenly mixed and smooth.
  7. Divide the dough into 4 and roll out into sausages, then chop the sausages into gnocchi sized pieces. Keep your work surface floured throughout.
  8. To cook the gnocchi, have a large pan of boiling water on the stove and then place your gnocchi into the boiling water. The gnocchi will only take a few minutes to cook, once it is floating it is cooked. Drain the gnocchi and add them to a sauce of your choice.
3 thoughts on “Basil Spelt Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Wild Garlic Pesto | Noisette

Leave a Reply

