Book Review: Brotherhood – Deepak and Sanjiv Chopra

This book was one that was recommended to me by Amazon as a Kindle deal. It was a wild card but a bargain and sounded like a great (true) story; I do enjoy a good autobiography.Two brothers, born in India and move to America to become doctors and live the American dream, in the 1970s. That being said, I must be living under a rock as I’d never heard of either brother; it turns out that both brothers are extremely well known, being highly respected and successful in their fields and having written many books. I quite liked the fact I hadn’t heard of them though, it meant I didn’t know anything about their story or how it would all turn out.

I absolutely loved the first half of this book, which detailed their life growing up in India, as the sons of a successful and intuitive doctor. The culture was exquisite and an insight into a different world. The second half of the book is interesting too, with both brothers now living in America and working as doctors. Having relocated half way across the world my self as a teen, I enjoy reading other people’s experiences of settling into somewhere completely new. There is a strong spiritual side throughout this book, unsurprisingly given a large part of it is set in India; the way in which the each brother incorporates this part of their upbringing into their adult life is different. The book is essentially two books, with each brother telling their own story, one chapter at a time. Deepak is the first of the two brothers to really embrace the more spiritual aspect of his life and he ended up being a pioneer in bringing integrative medicine to the USA. Integrative medicine looks at the way in which lifestyle, diet and exercise can impact on your health. This may sound sensible now but the mindset then was more along the lines of, so long as there was medicine to fix the problem, then it was ok. Sanjiv stayed much more on the modern medicine bandwagon but was interested and respectful of his brother’s medical practices and was confident his brother used integrative medicine with modern medicine to always do what was best for the patient.

The part of the book where things got a little far fetched, for me anyway, was when quantum healing was suggested. I’m a physicist, which may either help or hinder my open-mindedness but the idea didn’t float my boat. I’m always interested in hearing a different opinion though and as a whole the autobiography was an enlightening read into two very interesting lives.

One thought on “Book Review: Brotherhood – Deepak and Sanjiv Chopra

  1. I agree. It’s always great to read/hear about other’s points of view on topics that you are either knowledgable about or hit close to home, whether you agree or not. As humans, we have to strive to keep an open mind, which I think is very important.

    Great review!


    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

Leave a Reply

