Book Review: Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery – Jenny Colgan

Every now and then I need a break from reading more serious books and to get lost in some foodie chick lit. I had a couple of several hour train journeys coming up, with an incredible weekend away for James’ sister’s hen party in between the two; we had the most incredible time, there were outdoor activities aplenty, interspersed with hot tubs, steam rooms and good food.

Anyway, back to the book. I read the whole book in two train journeys and loved every second of it. Jenny Colgan (who I’ve mentioned numerous times on the blog) is one of my favourite chick lit authors and Polly (the main character in this series of Jenny Colgan books) is perhaps my favourite of her characters/story lines. It’s a draw between Issy of the Cupcake Café and Polly of the Little Beach Street Bakery but I think I love the setting of Little Beach Street Bakery a little more. Jenny’s books give be absolutely life envy and I always feel a little emotional finishing them, wishing I had my own bakery.

51RCq6TFVhL

Ok, ok, the book. I’m getting there! This is the second book about Polly and her puffin, Neil. In the first she leaves a failed relationship and business behind and moves to a remote Cornish island, where she goes through the teething problems of being an outsider, the trials and tribulations of getting back into the dating game and many other escapades. We meet her best friend Kerensa, the local fishermen, Huckle the bee keeper from Georgia, the frightful Mrs Manse (her land lord and boss), the ostentatious Rueben and many other incredible characters.

In this second installment of her story, Polly is happily living in her unconventional dream home, with her equally quirky dream man and of course, Neil the puffin. Everything was going perfectly; that is until everything she cared about, her job, her man, her puffin and even possibly her house, seem to be snatched away from her. Polly has lost everything once before and she sure as hell isn’t going to let it happen again. I don’t want to give any spoilers but if it is escapism you want, read Polly’s stories. They are delicately punctuated with talk of freshly baked bread and even if they don’t make you weep with life envy, you’ll definitely still LOVE them. I promise.

Link to the first Little Beach Street Bakery book.

Link to Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery.

I’ll be back with tasty recipes soon!

Leave a Reply

