Maple Gingerbread Cake

This cake had me at the title. Maple and ginger are two of my favourite flavours, I love what I consider to be Autumn flavours (and Christmas flavours… and Spring flavours…). The way I found this recipe though was exciting too (exciting for me…and probably exceptionally dull for anyone else); it is no secret that I LOVE bundt cake tins and Nordic Ware released a new one thatย I am in love with. I keep trying to track it down in the UK but it is impossible and they cost double here compared with the USA. During a session of bundt related internet trawling I found an article (which I wish I could find again) that recommended a book that contained no less than 20 bundt cake recipes, 20!! What I didn’t expect was that the book, Cake Keeper Cakes, came with 80 other amazing cakes recipes too. I vowed to work my way through the book and began with the tray bake section, I’ve never made many tray bakes and was attracted by the every-day-ness of them; I can’t explain it but I was and I rushed out to buy an 8 inch square cake tin and begin the journey.

Maplegb

This was the first recipe that was shouting to be made (which must have been pretty damn loud because there were so many gems in that book) and it absolutely didn’t disappoint; from the moist cake, raisins and the thin, crisp & tart icing that beautifully cut through the spiced and sweet cake, it was tea and cake perfection. The original recipe called for dried blueberries but my man is a raisin fiend, and I don’t have any dried blueberries, so I subbed them for raisins. As gingerbreads go it is a light one but definitely divine. Whilst we are on the subject of gingerbread, I just want to remind you of one of my favourite book series by Rebecca Raisin, The Gingerbread Cafe and its various spin offs.

Maplegb2

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 0.25 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 0.5 cup of buttermilk
  • 1&1/3 cups of plain flour
  • 1 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 tsp of ground ginger
  • 0.5 tsp of cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp of ground cloves
  • 0.25 tsp of salt
  • 1 stick (110 g ) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 6 tbsp of golden caster sugar
  • 1 cup of raisins

For the Icing:

  • 2 tbsp of lemon juice
  • 0.5 cup of icing sugar

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180ยฐC and line (or grease and flour) an 8 inch square cake tin.
  2. In a jug, whisk together the egg yolk, buttermilk and maple syrup.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until fluffy, with an electric whisk.
  4. Gradually add the egg/buttermilk mixture into the butter and sugar.
  5. Add the flour a bit at a time into the mixture, along with the spices, salt and baking soda, at a low speed until combined.
  6. Stir in the raisins.
  7. Scrape the mixture into the prepared tin and cake for 35-40 minutes, until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave in the tin for 5 minutes.
  9. Remove from the tin and leave to cool completely on a wire rack.
  10. Make the icing my simply whisking together the lemon juice and icing sugar. Once the cake it completely cooled, pour the icing onto the centre of the cake and spread it over the top with a knife or spatula.
  11. Slice and serve!
12 thoughts on “Maple Gingerbread Cake

  1. I have to say this
    Appeals! Maple and gingerbread! It’s like my books! Excuse me while I
    Go and share this post with the world because it’s so perfect! I have to make this! Xxx

    • Ahh thank you Rebecca!! I’m glad you approve ๐Ÿ™‚ there’s a deep and dark spicy chocolate gingerbread post in the works. Delicious and definitely for grown ups xx

  2. Pingback: Vanilla & Raspberry Ricotta Bundt Cake (GF) | Noisette

  3. Pingback: chocoChocolate Gingerbread Cake | Noisette

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Gingerbread Cake | Noisette

  5. Pingback: French Toast and Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm | Noisette

  6. Pingback: The Little Bookshop on the Seine. | Noisette

Leave a Reply

