Rye, Rhubarb and Ginger Cake

This cake was kind of fate. I made some rhubarb, ginger and orange compote/jam last year, using honey as a substitute for sugar, which was delicious but I still had two jars to use up. I decided a cake was the best platform for that (of course). I had also accidentally bought a couple of bags of rye flour (thinking that I needed some several weekly shops in a row and forgetting I’d already got some). Rye flour makes for a beautiful golden cake and really adds another flavour dimension. As I was drowning in rhubarb compote and rye flour this recipe popped into my inbox and saved me. I used my rhubarb compote over the one in the recipe but I can’t remember the specifics of the one I made. I know it had about 400 g of rhubarb, the zest and juice of an orange or two and a healthy dose of grated fresh ginger and a jar of honey. I will post the recipe for the compote that the original recipe uses (which I hope to make soon as it sounds DELICIOUS) but feel free to use any rhubarb compote/jam creation or any other fruit too. Experimentation in the kitchen is the best. I only made this cake two weeks ago but am already eager to make it again (which I will be this weekend). wpid-2015-05-28-12.58.10-1.jpg.jpeg I am SO glad it is rhubarb season. I’m going to be stocking up and freezing it for the year ahead.

Ingredients: For the compote:

  • 2 lbs of rhubarb stalks, chopped into pieces
  • 1 cup of turbinado sugar
  • 1 cup of white wine
  • Zest of an orange
  • 1 cup of sultanas
  • A generous amount of freshly grated ginger (not in the original recipe but I really love ginger with rhubarb)

For the cake:

  • cup (120 g) of plain flour (desperate to make it with white spelt next time)
  • cup of rye flour
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 0.75 tsp of baking soda
  • 0.75 tsp of salt
  • 3/4cup (180 g) of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 0.5 cup (100 g) of turbinado sugar (or muscavado/brown/golden caster)
  • 1/3 (67 g) cup of packed brown sugar
  • large eggs
  • 0.5 tsp of almond extract
  • Juice from half an orange, plus enough milk to equal 1 cup total of liquid (235 ml)

Method: Compote: Place all the ingredient into a medium-large saucepan and bring to a simmer over a medium heat. Stirring often, leave it to simmer for about 15 minutes. Once the rhubarb is tender, the raisins plump and most of the liquid absorbed, your compote is ready. Set it aside and make your cake. If your rhubarb isn’t quite tender yet but your mixture is dry, add a little water and continue stirring and simmering. Cake:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C. Line the bottom and grease the sides of an 8-9 inch round cake tin.
  2. In a large mixing bowl, cream together the butter and sugars until light and fluffy.
  3. Mix in the eggs, one at a time, followed by the almond extract.
  4. Sift in the flours, baking powder, baking soda and salt and mix in the orange juice and milk as you go. Mix until just combined, don’t over-mix.
  5. Pour (with the aid of a spatula) the mixture into the prepared tin and then spoon the compote on top of it. Use a knife or spatula to lightly swirl the compote into the top of the cake but keep it chunky and uneven.
  6. Bake for 45-55 minutes until golden brown and pulling away from the sides of the tin. From experience mine always takes at least 55 minutes and can be deceptively cooked until you take it out the tin. I often put foil over mine at 55 and cook for another 10 minutes, to be on the safe side. I think this depends largely on the consistency of your compote.
  7. Leave the cake to cool for ten minutes in the tin before turning it out onto a cooling rack. Serve warm (scandalously with ice cream) or let it cool completely and then serve. I can recommend both.
4 thoughts on “Rye, Rhubarb and Ginger Cake

Leave a Reply

