Lemon Drizzle Cake

This was a bit on an impromptu cake for a celebration at work. Stuck with the ingredients I had available at 9pm, I decided it was time to make my first lemon drizzle cake (I’m fairly new to the sweet citrus world, usually preferring it savoury). My best friend, Eloise of A Bookworm Baker, was very interested though as she is a lemon drizzle fiend and has been hunting for that ‘perfect’ recipe. Dubious that this would be the one, I nevertheless thought it would make a perfectly acceptable lemon drizzle. Whilst I wouldn’t say perfect (always room for improvement) this really was a splendid cake.

Lemon drizI excitedly informed Eloise that I had possibly found a contender for her perfect lemon drizzle cake and sent her the recipe to try herself. She used brown granulated sugar and reports thatΒ  that works too. I based the recipe on a BBC Good Food recipe but adapted and added, to ensure the best lemon to sweet ratio. When I have a lemon cake, I really want to taste the lemon. A colleague took a slice home for her mum (whose favourite cake is lemon drizzle) and I heard reports back that it was the best she had tasted. Now, this may be untrue flattery, but it can only mean it was pretty good at the very least, right?!

LemondrizIngredients:

For the cake:

  • 225 g of unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 225 g of granulated sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • The zest of 2 lemons
  • 225 g of self-raising flour

For the drizzle:

  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • 85 g of caster sugar

For the icing:

  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • ~100 g of icing sugar, add icing sugar until you get the consistency you want
  • The zest of the lemon (to decorate)

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180Β°C.
  2. Line a 1 kg loaf tin with baking paper.
  3. Cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.
  4. Mix in the eggs, one at a time.
  5. Sift in the flour and add the lemon zest, mix in until just combined, don’t over mix.
  6. Scrape the mixture into the prepared tin and bake for 45-55 minutes until it turns a beautiful deep golden brown and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  7. Whilst the cake is cooking, make the drizzle but simply mixing the sugar and lemon juice in a bowl and setting aside.
  8. Once the cake is cooked, use your skewer to poke holes all over the top of the cake (whilst it is still warm and in the tin) and pour the drizzle over the top of the cake and let it soak in.
  9. Leave the cake to cool completely in the tin, this will take several hours. If you don’t have several hours, leave it in the tin for ten minutes so that the drizzle can soak in and then remove it onto a cooling rack.
  10. Whilst the cake is cooling, make the icing. Place the juice of a lemon into a bowl and stir in icing sugar until you have the consistency you want, I’d recommend pourable but it is up to you.
  11. Once the cake has completely cooled, remove it from the tin and the baking paper and then pour the icing over it. Top with lemon zest.
  12. Allow a few minutes for the icing to set (if you can), then slice and enjoy.
12 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle Cake

  1. Absolutely delicious! I’m so happy you have brought this into my memory bank of recipies πŸ˜€ I also added a splash of lemon juice to the batter, can’t have too much lemon in a lemon drizzle x

  2. I have a brand new mixer/food processor thing and this cake has been chosen to test it with over the weekend. I can’t wait, looks delicious!

      • It turned out really well for the first attempt. I think I left it in maybe 3-5 minutes too long (but the skewer just wasn’t coming out completely clean from the centre). It tastes lovely, it just that little bit drier than I would have liked it to be. Must try again πŸ™‚

    • on or off? I have heard that having it off makes for a more even bake but I can’t turn it off on my oven. I tried making a pudding at my mum’s the other day with the fan off and it took forever to cook. So who knows haha

  3. Hehe, I meant on, I went without (mine can go either way) but I wonder if having it on would have helped it bake that much faster in the middle. Tim said I should have just taken it out and it would continue to cook for a few more minutes simply because I was leaving it in the tin, but I decide to leave it in the oven until I was happy it was cooked.

    • I think on does help is bake much faster, I think it makes for a less even rise though as it cooks quickly inside. I’m no expert though. Only one way to find out, a scientific study with extensive testing πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

