Breakfast Crumble

So, I thought I’d break up the constant stream of cakes there has been lately with a breakfast dish; we’ll pretend that it isn’t a dessert inspired breakfast dish. I promise I will start posting savoury, healthy dishes again soon as I’m determined to get re-inspired and back on track but life has been hectic and I’ve been cooking the old faithful dishes (and baking a lot of cake too, as you know). I made this crumble one Friday night ready to pop in the oven on Saturday morning, a plan that I was most grateful for when I woke up.

Bc2

You could use any fruit for this, I went for berries; the crumble is a more oaty and less sugary than traditional crumble topping and has some flaked almonds thrown in for good measure. I hadn’t heard of breakfast crumble before and thought I’d had a great new idea, since then it is all I’ve seen on the internet but I am not complaining, the more the merrier.

Ingredients: (Serves 2-4)

  • 500 g of fruit, peeled/chopped if needed
  • 40 g of rye flour (or any flour you’d like)
  • 40 g of oats
  • 30 g of light brown sugar
  • 30 g of butter, chopped into chunks
  • 15 g of flaked almonds
  • Vanilla yogurt, to serve with, optional

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C (unless you are making it the night before).
  2. Place the fruit in an oven proof dish and set aside.
  3. In a mixing bowl, place the butter, flour, oats and sugar and using your fingers work it into a crumble.
  4. Lightly mix in your flaked almonds and then sprinkle the topping over the fruit and bake for ~40 minutes or until the fruit is soft and your crumble browned.
  5. Serve with yogurt (or cream if you are feeling decadent).

Bc

Leave a Reply

