French Toast and Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm

This recipe is inspired by (and features in) the latest book (due out on July 17th) Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm by Rebecca Raisin. Rebecca has written some of my absolute favourite books, all (so far) set in the deliciously quaint town of Ashford, Connecticut with her gang of incredible characters. The relationships between the characters literally warms my heart and I want so badly to move to Ashford and be their friend. Whilst Lil (who I’ve blogged about here, here & here, and reviewed several Rebecca Raisin books in this post) is my kindred spirit in these books, this book focused around Lucy who is an artist and a totally new character who has been made to promise her mum (whom she cares for) that she’d take a year for herself and get on the first bus out of town. I couldn’t help but love Lucy and don’t get me started on the mysterious maple syrup farm owner Clay, what a character he was! I could not put this book down, I HAD to know what happened and despite it not being officially out yet I am in desperate need of the sequel to it. I HAVE TO KNOW, it is imperative. In this book Lil cooks Lucy some French toast and I realised how long it had been since I’d rustled up this favourite for breakfast myself.

French Toast

So here goes, my recipe for French toast…

Ingredients: (To serve 2)

  • 4 thick slices of white bread, preferably from a delicious bakery style loaf
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp of milk
  • A pinch of salt
  • Grilled bacon
  • Plentiful maple syrup
  • Butter, for frying (this is NOT an option, butter is the secret)
  • Cinnamon sugar, optional

Method:

  1. In a shallow dish, whisk together the eggs and milk, sprinkle with a little salt (start grilling your bacon if you haven’t already).
  2. Heat a frying pan on high until hot and then turn down to medium and add a generous dollop of butter.
  3. Whilst the butter is melting soak the first slice of bread in the egg mixture for a couple of seconds on each side.
  4. Place the eggy bread into the frying pan and allow it to cook until the underneath becomes a deep golden brown in places. Flip the bread over and cook the other side.
  5. Repeat for the 3 remaining slices, adding more butter to the pan as required.
  6. Serve with bacon, maple syrup and a sprinkle of cinnamon sugar.
  7. Prepare to be amazed.
3 thoughts on “French Toast and Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm

  1. Reblogged this on Rebecca Raisin and commented:
    Noisette has read Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm and shared a delicious French Toast recipe! I follow Noisette’s blog purely because it’s the best! Now, I’m off to the kitchen to follow her recipe, because you can’t look at a picture of French toast like that and not cook it! Check out her other recipes they’re so good! xx

  2. Pingback: Secrets at Maple Syrup Farm – The Book Tour | Noisette

  3. Pingback: The Little Bookshop on the Seine. | Noisette

Leave a Reply

