2015 films, the second quarter

I’m a couple of weeks late on this post but here are a few reviews of the films I’ve seen in April, May and June. Sadly San Andreas isn’t on the list, I really wanted to see that. Have you seen it? Recommend it?

Fast & Furious 7 (2015) Poster1) Fast & Furious 7

I have a thing about this genre of film, far fetched action, I just absolutely love it. For example The Expendables films are up their in my ‘most favourite films’ list and I’ll watch anything with Statham in (the voice and looks help but really it’s the type of film he is in). I was super excited about this film and also dreading it; I knew there would be a tribute to Paul Walker in it, which there absolutely should be, but it had me in absolute floods of tears. Knowing how close those guys were in real life, seeing it amplified throughout the film and then watching the cast pay tribute to him by retiring his character from the series and privately saying their goodbyes through the help of Walker’s brothers and CGI, was rather emotional. That aside, the film was fantastic; completely far-fetched and unrealistic. F&F 7 sees Toretto and his team hunted by the brother (Statham) of the bad guy that they left in a coma in the previous film. Toretto and ‘family’ then end up caught in the middle of something much bigger, a terrorist organisation  and a government body. The terrorist organisation have taking hostage a hacker who has created the technology ‘God’s Eye’ that can track anyone, anywhere in a matter of minutes, promising to change the face of warfare if in the wrong hands. The government organisation want the technology for themselves and offer Toretto the chance to use it to track down Shaw (Statham) with it, if they get their hands on it. Queue ridiculous stunts, flying cars out of planes, Dwayne Johnson doing his thing and many a drag race. We also see Letty back in the team. It is everything it should be with a side of knife to the heart. A wonderful tribute to Paul’s memory. I can’t bring myself to give such a poignent film a number out of 10 but it was brilliant and ridiculous, just how I like it.

Cinderella (2015) Poster2) Cinderalla

I went to see this film with a friend (a fellow Disney lover) for her birthday. I was pleasantly surprised. I didn’t love Maleficent (as I expected it to be darker) but for Cinderella I was expected a charming prince and a quaint, princess inspired story and it did exactly what it says on the tin. It was a lovely (especially visually), slightly too cutesy, live action version of the Cinderella we love. I secretly only went to see it because Helena Bonham-Carter was in it, but it was a pleasant way to spend a few hours. I’m not sure I would rush to watch it a second time, but I am glad I did. 7/10.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015) Poster3) Avengers: Age of Ultron

We love Marvel and all of the Avengers films and character films. That being said, I found this the weakest of them all. Which was sad because I purposely didn’t watch any trailers, so that nothing was ruined and as a piece of cinema it was magnificent. As a film and story though, I thought it just lacked substance. I still enjoyed it but there were no ‘moments’ like there are in all the other Avengers/Marvel films, I couldn’t even pick a favourite moment because I couldn’t really remember any stand out scenes. I just felt it focused too much on the special effects and the visual side of things and lacked in story line. Having said this, I’ve never read the comics but it may be accurate to those but there was a lot left unexplained that could have done with being explained. 7/10

Home (2015) Poster

4) Home

I took my little sisters to see this as I’d heard great things about it. Unfortunately though, I didn’t love it as much as it appeared other people did. The first half I didn’t love but by the end of it I was emotionally invested and it turned out to be a nice story. If you haven’t seen it or heard about it, aliens come to Earth, running away from the Gorg, the aliens take over Earth, thinking they are improving the simple humans’ lives. One alien though, Oh, is a little different and finds himself in close contact with a real life Human, a little girl called Tip. It seems both have a lot to learn about each other, in their quest to find Tip’s mum. 5/10.

Jurassic World (2015) Poster

5) Jurassic World

I was dubious about this film, I’d heard mixed reviews and the despite having a love of dinosaurs stemming from my obsession with them as a 4 year old, I was not in a film mood when I went to see this film. I was nodding off in the adverts in fact. However, once it started I was hooked, I loved this film. It was fun, charming, packed with dinosaurs and Chris Pratt was excellent. I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD so I can watch it again, it was such a good combination of edge of the seat and heart warming. 8.5/10.

2 thoughts on “2015 films, the second quarter

Leave a Reply

