Biscuit Spread Cake

I’ve always been a fan of Caramelised Lotus biscuits, or Speculoos as I hear they are called outside of the UK. After an amusing and confusing conversation about biscuit bread, that went something like “Biscuit Bread?!”, “Yes! Biscuit Spread!”, “Bread?!”, “YES, spread, look I’ll go and get it”, I finally stared in awe at this jar of heaven. I was equally appalled and desperate to eat the whole jar with a spoon.

Every now and then I’d treat myself to a slice of toast with biscuit spread but the jar had been lingering in my cupboard, taunting me and I wanted to use it up. I spotted this recipe on Food 52 and knew James would love it (and me too of course!).

Biscuit Bread Cake

Whilst I’m not convinced of its breakfast properties, it was a delicious treat.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 0.5 cup of milk
  • 0.25 cup of vegetable oil
  • 0.25 cup of water
  • 0.5 cup of biscuit spread
  • 0.5 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup of flour
  • 0.5 (scant) cup of sugar
  • 0.5 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 tsp of baking soda

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C.
  2. Line an 8 inch square tin.
  3. In a mixing bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients.
  4. Sift the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients and mix until well combined.
  5. Scrape into the prepared tin and bake for 30 – 40 minutes, until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  6. Let the cake cool down in the tin for a while before removing it from the tin and allowing it to cool completely in the baking paper.
  7. Slice and serve.

Sorry for being so absent these past few months, life has been unbelievably hectic (in a good way) and I have also been rediscovering old hobbies, such as crafting, which take up what little free time I have. I’m determined to get back on track and now that my birthday has been, the countdown to Christmas has begun! I’ve got recipes, gift ideas and perhaps a craft or two to share in the coming months.

One thought on “Biscuit Spread Cake

Leave a Reply

